Search - User list
Full Version: Meshes are not showing up when outside the Subnet Graph
Root » Houdini Learning Materials » Meshes are not showing up when outside the Subnet Graph
opponent019
Hello, I'm pretty new to Houdini but not to working in 3D and scripting. I've been following SideFX's Sci-Fi Level Builder tutorials [vimeo.com] but I'm having some issues.

Main issue is: the meshes are not showing up when I try to preview from outside the Subnet graph.

Context:
I finished the first video, with the exception of the nodes that he skips and doesn't explain how to do (?!) and it works fine but when I brought it into Unity it kept giving me these errors:

I keep getting these errors in Unity after placing the tool in the map:
> Unsupported number of vertices per face: 2. Unable to set MeshTopology.
> Single mesh with group name main_geo has mixed topology (triangles and quads) which is not supported. Recommending splitting up the mesh or change Plugin Settings' Max Vertices Per Face to 3 to force triangles.
> Failed setting triangles. The number of supplied triangle indices must be a multiple of 3.

I could see the curve with the points but no mesh. I checked the Plugin Settings like it says but Max Vertices Per Primitive (there's no option for Face) is turned to 3 by default already.
This with just having pillars (stretched boxes) as the walls.

I solved those issues with adding a Divide node before the Output node but I think that's just patching a symptom of what's causing my issues since he didn't need to do that. At first I thought it was a Unity problem but then I realized that even inside Houdini if I go out from my graph into the parent graph (Subnet / geo1) I don't see my meshes anymore.

I've uploaded my Houdini file

Also, while you're here, if you'd like to explain the nodes that he doesn't explain here [vimeo.com] that would be awesome. He does it for the walls too on the minute 16. But my priority is to get this thing working.

Thank you!
CYTE