Search - User list
Full Version: how to use wedge node properly to name files?
Root » PDG/TOPs » how to use wedge node properly to name files?
mhspadez
I'm trying to set my wedges so that I can run a range, let that range complete and then run a different range.

For example, I just want wedge 1-10, let that finish, then do 11-20 (testing with smaller numbers in the screenshot).

It seems the wedge node is set up for this, but whenever I run it the second range overwrites the first one, and it seems to start from wedge 0 even though I'm trying to set it to higher numbers.

I've set all my output nodes to use @wedgenum instead of @wedgeindex and I've checked "preserve wedge numbers" in the wedge node, but that didn't do it. What am I doing wrong? Can anyone help me out?
axelsp
Hi, im new to this, im sure the guys will have a better answer for you in a minute. But wanted to leave me 2 cents too.

For names I tend use the Attribute Create node and create your name string there. Specially if you need to use substr() padzero() etc... . Id rather do it here and just reference the name att around the scene (i.e @fileDescription ).
But, if you can keep your name suffix as a simple index and pipe the data into metadata, Id say its a better practice in the long run.

As for the range. I think you need to keep ur total range, so 1-20, and use 'Filter Range' node to get your setup working as you expect it to.
Im guessing that if you reset your range each time you run it, from 1-10 and then 11-20, 'glitch_5.gif' will be 4 in (1-10) and 14 in (11-20). Or something around that line.

As for 'preserve wedgenum' i havent used it, but it seems to convert wedgenum from 'integer' to 'integer array'. So, say you have 4 wedge nodes in your graph and you check preserve on all the nodes. The first iteration of your graph, wedgenum should return the array (0,0,0,0) or the 5th iteration of the last node, wedgenum = (0,0,0,4)

Hope that makes sense,
Cheers!
doodlemaker