Bullet physics implementation and other stuff

   300467   385   4
User Avatar
Member
1769 posts
Joined: Dec. 2006
Offline
Yessss! You rock!
daniel bukovec | senior fx td | weta digital
qLib -- http://qlab.github.io/qLib/ [qlab.github.io]
User Avatar
Member
303 posts
Joined: May 2007
Online
one fool question:
when i compiled a reflow4houdini plugin all h10.0.xxx can use it, why do your plugin can only use in the specified version? is that h11's core is updating every version?
https://vimeo.com/user3971456/videos [vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Staff
4164 posts
Joined: Sept. 2007
Offline
I've experienced both. Some plugins have been compiled with one version, and still load in later builds of houdini. Others need to be recompiled for each build. I believe it all depends on what changes are occurring under the hood, and if they affect the HDK functions used by the plugin.
I'm o.d.d.
User Avatar
Member
334 posts
Joined: July 2007
Offline
Nice speed improvment on latest build! Great work!

Just wondering is there any reason Sidefx couldnt implement bullet into houdini? It seems to be the ultimate rigid body solver


Keep it up!
www.gimpville.no
User Avatar
Member
255 posts
Joined: Aug. 2009
Offline
thx

luoqiulin: I dont get it too , but for me Its not problem compile and release plugin for every production build.


Korhon: For me, no problem. If SESI will want to bullet plugin, so I provide source code free (for v1.0 in future) for them.
But I think That SideFx want all dynamics in DOP network so this plugin is against their policy. Partially I agree with this, the DOP is for some things better than the SOP, but most users can work with the SOP( first thing what they learn in houdini) and DOP is different world. And this is reason why this implementation is SOP.
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
52 posts
Joined: July 2007
Offline
goldleaf
I've experienced both. Some plugins have been compiled with one version, and still load in later builds of houdini. Others need to be recompiled for each build. I believe it all depends on what changes are occurring under the hood, and if they affect the HDK functions used by the plugin.

cybermax may compiled bullet as a static dso ,i assume. so it can not be used with later version.

if he build bullet as dynamic, we must compile bullet libary by self.
User Avatar
Member
255 posts
Joined: Aug. 2009
Offline
horizon1231
cybermax may compiled bullet as a static dso ,i assume. so it can not be used with later version.
if he build bullet as dynamic, we must compile bullet libary by self.

I am using hcmd.exe with >hcustom SOP_bullet.cpp<

of course I have some -L -l -I parameters
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
52 posts
Joined: July 2007
Offline
cybermax
horizon1231
cybermax may compiled bullet as a static dso ,i assume. so it can not be used with later version.
if he build bullet as dynamic, we must compile bullet libary by self.

I am using hcmd.exe with >hcustom SOP_bullet.cpp<

of course I have some -L -l -I parameters

check hcustom –help for detail
-s
-g
-e
User Avatar
Member
255 posts
Joined: Aug. 2009
Offline
horizon1231: I know about others parameters, but It is not help me


I made new video: http://vimeo.com/15006308 [vimeo.com]

Nothing special, but I like it.
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
1769 posts
Joined: Dec. 2006
Offline
when i start houdini i get 2 error messages, the plugins work, but also get these messages every time i start mplay, which is a bit annoying.
Could it be that i'm missing some libraries from my system?

attached 2 images with the error.

Attachments:
dll_error2.jpg (19.4 KB)
dll_error1.jpg (15.0 KB)

daniel bukovec | senior fx td | weta digital
qLib -- http://qlab.github.io/qLib/ [qlab.github.io]
User Avatar
Member
255 posts
Joined: Aug. 2009
Offline
buki
when i start houdini i get 2 error messages, the plugins work, but also get these messages every time i start mplay, which is a bit annoying.
Could it be that i'm missing some libraries from my system?.

Do you have Houdini 11.0.469 ???
v0.95 is for H11.0.446.9, v0.97 is for H11.0.469.


Someone else has the same problem???
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
31 posts
Joined: May 2008
Offline
no problems here…

For the basic kinematic example, is there any way to have the bullet object inherit velocity/angular velocity when activated in bullet?

Like if I have something animated as spinning, and I want it to keep spinning in bullet until it collides with something… is that possible?
User Avatar
Member
1769 posts
Joined: Dec. 2006
Offline
yes i have .469 and running v0.97, i was surprised too that had errors when i installed, im suspecting that i'm maybe missing some microsoft libraries.

If not much of a work, can You please compile it with latest production build.
daniel bukovec | senior fx td | weta digital
qLib -- http://qlab.github.io/qLib/ [qlab.github.io]
User Avatar
Member
255 posts
Joined: Aug. 2009
Offline
neonshaun: yeh, I know about this, I have some plan for future development, so maybe next version



buki: I know where is problem
I guess that you have problem only with GroupConvert node, other are ok.

Problem is that v0.97 dont use GroupConvert and this node is not in zip file for download. And you have this node from version 0.95 which was compile for older houdini.

So solution is delete groupConvert. With v0.97 you dont have to use it. You have SOP_ShortGroup.
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
1769 posts
Joined: Dec. 2006
Offline
Ah yes!! Thanks, so simple ops:
daniel bukovec | senior fx td | weta digital
qLib -- http://qlab.github.io/qLib/ [qlab.github.io]
User Avatar
Member
110 posts
Joined:
Offline
Hey cybermax, I just started testing this , some neat stuff you got here.

I'll try to post a video of some stuff later.
User Avatar
Member
255 posts
Joined: Aug. 2009
Offline
Ratmann
Hey cybermax, I just started testing this , some neat stuff you got here.

I'll try to post a video of some stuff later.

Hi, your videos are welcome.

I discover few bugs in v0.97 so I release next version soon, but now I working on one big house where I testing this new version, so I upload some new video soon.
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
255 posts
Joined: Aug. 2009
Offline
v0.975
- H11.0.469, Win64
- fix some bugs

This release doesnt include new features, only fix some bugs if you work with large scene with 1000x objects.

I release this because I start working with glue objects with btCompoundShape and I need some time than I implement it.

I hope that btCompoundShape bring more stability for large object than constraints. Problem with constraints is that if you have more constraints(thousands), there is some errors( vibrate ), so solution is increase substeps but this increase sim time and there is situation where problem is still. I made some research and I think that this is right way.

Attachments:
bullet_free_project.zip (362.0 KB)

https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
57 posts
Joined: May 2007
Offline
Thanks for sharing this cybermax! It works great in Houdini Escape so far.
User Avatar
Member
110 posts
Joined:
Offline
cybermax
v0.975
- H11.0.469, Win64
- fix some bugs

This release doesnt include new features, only fix some bugs if you work with large scene with 1000x objects.

I release this because I start working with glue objects with btCompoundShape and I need some time than I implement it.

I hope that btCompoundShape bring more stability for large object than constraints. Problem with constraints is that if you have more constraints(thousands), there is some errors( vibrate ), so solution is increase substeps but this increase sim time and there is situation where problem is still. I made some research and I think that this is right way.

I can confirm that btCompoundShape does indeed make glue type work much more stable.

Thought you'll most likely have to add in a secondary connectivity system with interconnecting lines for the points. To give it an internal structure to calculate impulse strengths and overall connection between the pieces.

I found this to be the best way to work with this sort of stuff, and I've seen it done at two separate places with very, very similar bullet setup.

Hope this helps at all.
  • Quick Links