FAQ FAQ      Search Search      Memberlist Memberlist      Usergroups Usergroups      Register Register      Profile Profile      Check private messages Check private messages      Log in Log in     

Houdini 11 Apprentice - Manual license install
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Houdini Forum Index -> Houdini Indie and Apprentice
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chrism
Quality Assurance


Joined: 19 Sep 2007
Posts: 1543
Location: Toronto

canada.gif
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 1:15 pm GMT    Post subject: Houdini 11 Apprentice - Manual license install Reply with quote

Temporarily for Houdini 11.0, you need to manually install your Apprentice licenses.

First obtain an Apprentice license from here. http://license.sidefx.com/get_nc_license.php

Then follow the instructions from here. http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1208&Itemid=273#install-manual

_________________
Chris McSpurren
Senior Quality Assurance Specialist
Side Effects Software Inc.
www.sidefx.com


Last edited by chrism on Wed Jul 28, 2010 2:08 pm GMT; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
syme
Socialite


Joined: 26 Jul 2008
Posts: 68

blank.gif
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:16 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

I followed the instructions. In the Houdini License Administrator, under server information I have all green checks. The installed licenses shows just the Render-NonCommerical 11.0. I don't recall if it's supposed to show the server license.

Anyway, when I run Houdini, the "This software requires a license" box comes up.

Anybody else with this issue and/or a way to resolve?

Windows XP Pro, core2 laptop, basic laptop...version 10 ran with no problem. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arctor
Houdini Guru


Joined: 22 Jul 2002
Posts: 1506
Location: Toronto, Ontario

canada.gif
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:54 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

there should be three (3)
_________________
Michael Goldfarb | CG Supervisor | SPIN | www.odforce.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
craiglhoffman
Houdini Adept


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 246
Location: Orlando, Florida

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 11:06 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't seem to get a proper server license (Windows 7 64 bit Lenovo Y560 laptop with Corei7, ATI 5730 GPU)- although H10 Apprentice worked fine before this:

I get this message after following all of your directions (three times and three reboots):

Key 1:
ERROR: Key installation failed for LenovoLaptop
Please ensure that the server code and signature of the SERVER key for
LenovoLaptop are correct

I entered the stuff as seen in the License Administrator into the page to get a key.

Also hkey.exe for H11 seems problematic to me- I can't exit out of it without the Windows window coming up and telling me it isn't responding and that I have to kill it. The hkey.exe for H10 seems fine.

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
syme
Socialite


Joined: 26 Jul 2008
Posts: 68

blank.gif
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 11:20 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

arctor wrote:
there should be three (3)


I see what I did wrong now, thanks to your comment.

The choices given....
Houdini Master (Non-Commercial)
Houdini Escape (Non-Commercial)
Renderer (Non-Commercial)

For whatever reason, I thought Renderer was the option to pick instead of Houdini Master, hence why it gave me the error. Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KiLa
Socialite


Joined: 27 Jun 2008
Posts: 57

finland.gif
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 2:13 am GMT    Post subject: Windows 7 64 bit Reply with quote

Houdini 11 works fine in Windows 7 64 bit...
I have only 2 licences - Master and Render

-Kimmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michaelmckeever
Talkative


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 27

usa.gif
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 10:48 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you. It was a scary moment but it's working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
craiglhoffman
Houdini Adept


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 246
Location: Orlando, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 1:39 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still can't get a server key that works (see previous message), despite following the directions to a "T".

Should I uninstall all of my Houdini (10 & 11) apps, change my PC name, reboot, and try again?!?

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Craig Hoffman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
craiglhoffman
Houdini Adept


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 246
Location: Orlando, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 1:40 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

-Forgot to mention the other two keys were accepted fine.

-Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
twod
Developer


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 2992
Location: Side Effects

canada.gif
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 1:44 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try killing hserver and sesinetd first, and trying again. Perhaps an old version is giving you a bad code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chrism
Quality Assurance


Joined: 19 Sep 2007
Posts: 1543
Location: Toronto

canada.gif
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 2:07 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

H11 Gold has been updated so that it will automatically install your apprentice license for you now.
_________________
Chris McSpurren
Senior Quality Assurance Specialist
Side Effects Software Inc.
www.sidefx.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
craiglhoffman
Houdini Adept


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 246
Location: Orlando, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 2:11 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does that mean uninstall/reinstall?

Thanks,
Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Eagle66
Talkative


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 36
Location: Germany

germany.gif
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 2:14 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Changes from 11.0.446.9 to Changes 11.0.455 at Daily Builds on Download-Page don't show after Login.

Sorry, access not allowed, you must be a member of 'Alpha'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
craiglhoffman
Houdini Adept


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 246
Location: Orlando, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 2:17 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

..and do I need to download a new H11? (I downloaded 11.0.446.7...)

Many thanks,
Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
chrism
Quality Assurance


Joined: 19 Sep 2007
Posts: 1543
Location: Toronto

canada.gif
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 2:27 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. Grab 11.0.446.9.

That journal link doesn't work when comparing between gold and the daily builds. Known issue. It'll work fine once it's comparing between daily builds again.

_________________
Chris McSpurren
Senior Quality Assurance Specialist
Side Effects Software Inc.
www.sidefx.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
i9089303
Houdini Adept


Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 232
Location: London

uk.gif
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 7:32 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello forum,

I have installed the latest version; Houdini 11.0.446.9 (Apprentice),
when the program asked me to install the Free Houdini Apprentice License, I said yes and it came up with a message that was successfully installed.
But when ever I run Houdini, repeats the same process.

I tried to do it manually as well but nothing changed.

Do you have any idea what can be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
itango2
Lurker


Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 2

blank.gif
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 10:32 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the past day I have had difficulty getthing Houdini11 Apprentice HD to run on my Lenovo T61p with fx570m video card intalled with Windows7 64bit.

First I was having the problem with the repeating license screen appearing and never getting Houdini to launch. After updating to the latest windows patches I started to get a application crash when launching Houdini11 Apprentice. The last part of the crash log located in the C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Temp\crashlog_<username> looked like the following:

+0x7058376f [UI_Queue::processNextEvent]
+0x7058389f [UI_Queue::drain]
+0x70583998 [UI_Queue::eventLoop]
+0x70562330 [UI_Manager::eventLoop]
+0x7150b84f [AP_Interface::getWindowGeometry]
+0x7150be0f [myWinMain]
+0x4000c02c
+0x76c0f56d [BaseThreadInitThunk]
+0x76e43281 [RtlUserThreadStart

What I ended up doing to solve this problem was go to the properties on the Houdini icon and select the compatibility tab. Select the "Run this program in compatibiltiy mode for:" checkbox. In the pull down list I selected "Windows Vista(Services Pack 2).

After this I was able to get Houdini to launch. I have created some simple simulations with no problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
twod
Developer


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 2992
Location: Side Effects

canada.gif
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:07 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

What was the first part of the crashlog, if you still have it? That's the important part Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
itango2
Lurker


Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 2

blank.gif
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:32 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the complete crash log that is created when I run Houdini11 Apprentice without the "Run this program in compatabilty mode" option selected. This problem is very reproducable on my system as soon as I enable the compatibility mode then all is well. Hope this helps find the problem.

Crash report from krossio; Unknown App Version 11.0.446.9 [windows-x86_64-cl14]
Traceback from Thu Jul 29 07:20:50 2010
Caught signal 11
+0x77861da0 [RtlFreeHeap]
+0x77712c7a [HeapFree]
+0x73306dfb [free]
+0x73e354dc [x291589374::x2548132322]
+0x73e5f8a9 [x558866202::x558866202]
+0x73e3f8c8 [x302948192]
+0x73e3dde7 [x567394271::x652430273]
+0x73e3fe13 [x621785291::x729471031]
+0x73e3e546 [x567394271::x576883772]
+0x73e45b9f [x1759739260::x099684882]
+0x741c859f [IMG_FileOption::~IMG_FileOption]
+0x741c8daa [IMG_Format::findFormatByName]
+0x741cab52 [IMG_TIFF::hasColorMap]
+0x741cb4e1 [IMG_Format::installBasics]
+0x741c8ca3 [IMG_Format::getNFormats]
+0x714e9a59 [SI_SplashScreen::open]
+0x7150b7cf [AP_Interface::getWindowGeometry]
+0x7150be0f [myWinMain]
+0x4000187c
+0x7770f56d [BaseThreadInitThunk]
+0x77843281 [RtlUserThreadStart]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Azryle
Lurker


Joined: 03 Feb 2009
Posts: 6

uk.gif
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 11:18 am GMT    Post subject: license issue Reply with quote

Hey guys,

Been having problems trying to get this working over the past two days and have been stuck with pretty much the same problem as Craig, and now even with the automatic one I still get the key installtion failed error for the server key.
Same problem appearing on my friends computer aswell. If it helps both are on windows 7 64-bit
Any ideas or help would be very much appreciated
Thanks for your time Smile

Cheers
Azhul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
craiglhoffman
Houdini Adept


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 246
Location: Orlando, Florida

PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 1:45 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alas, I am still having problems.

I uninstalled H11, deleted the C:/Windows/keys directory, downloaded H 11.0.446.9 and reinstalled.

Upon running it, I still get the:

"ERROR: Key installation failed for LenovoLaptop
Please ensure that the server code and signature of the SERVER key for LenovoLaptop are correct"

Any ideas?

I don't think I have had this many problems getting Houdini to run since H5... Smile

Thanks,
Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
craiglhoffman
Houdini Adept


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 246
Location: Orlando, Florida

PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 1:47 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh- and by the way, hserver and sesinetd don't seem to be running at all on my PC when checking the Task Manager...

Thanks for any help,
Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Azryle
Lurker


Joined: 03 Feb 2009
Posts: 6

uk.gif
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 2:46 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah pretty much having the same problems myself still and its now extended to the h10 aswell for me. Cant get either of them working with the same 'Key installation failed' error. Tried reinstalls of both, cleared registry entries, deleted the keys folder etc but still doesnt work.
Any help would be appreciated and thanks for your time Smile.

Cheers
Azhul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WhoDjini
Socialite


Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 82

germany.gif
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 4:15 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Azhul and Craig,

if you have no hserver & sesinetd running, it's not a problem yet, that means only you have chosen Apprentice Licencing during installation. In that case
C:\WINDOWS\keys\licenses is the place where you (better hkey should) save your licence information. Go to http://license.sidefx.com/get_nc_license.php , run hkey.exe and enter the server name and its server code you find on the server information tab into the web form. Choosing Houdini master should give you three lines, which you copy into the licences file, save it and it should be ok.

If you also feel the need to use Houdini Escape repeat the steps and now it's sufficient to choose only the LICENSE Generic Houdini-Escape-NonCommercial and add this to your licence file.

In case you opt for Licence server use File->Manually Enter Keys... and copy each key
- SERVER
- LICENSE Generic Houdini-Master-NonCommercial
- LICENSE Generic Render-NonCommercial
- LICENSE Generic Houdini-Escape-NonCommercial if needed at all

to the input fields and that should be it.

That is how I got my H11 running.

_________________
If you can't script/program it, it's no good at all !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
craiglhoffman
Houdini Adept


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 246
Location: Orlando, Florida

PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 5:48 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

For some reason the "License server code", whether obtained from the Houdini License Adminstrator "Server Information" tab or from using "sesictrl -n" (and both are different!) don't seem to generate a SERVER key from this page:

http://license.sidefx.com/get_nc_license.php

that works when I do "Manually Enter Keys.." in the Houdini License Administrator.

Do I need to manually edit the Licenses file? (For some reason I can't seem to override the permissions like I normally do to allow myself to edit it, but that is some Win7 thing I am trying to figure out...)

Thanks,
Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Houdini Forum Index -> Houdini Indie and Apprentice All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


phpBB component v1.2.4 RC3 by Adam van Dongen. Based on phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group