Search - User list
Full Version: Where is the absolute beginner section
Root » Houdini Lounge » Where is the absolute beginner section
clumsycloudy
Hi people, i thought diving into houdini for a bit, after having done the basic sidefx and digital tutors tutorials.

I am especially interested in doing camera animation and adjusting motionpaths as thats where lightwave is lacking. A good start would be getting my work from lightwave into houdini and moving on from there.

Would be nice if this forum had a beginner section, would make me feel less stupid..

cheers

ric
rmagee
We have considered setting up an Apprentice forum for newer customers but so far old and new customers have mingled very well in the Houdini forums. Everyone is very helpful and willing to answer questions at any level.

For cameras on motion paths, there are options on the camera node itself that you should look at. Draw a curve, create a camera then use the follow path tool (modify shelf) to attach the camera to the path. This will animate it from one end to the other based on your current timeline. You can adjust this animation in the curve editor.

You may also want to control the look at point. Set up a Null object then use the Look at tool to point the camera to the null. Then it can be attached to a different path or animated freely.

Actually this sounds like a good idea for a tutorial. I'll see what I can do….
clumsycloudy
allright, these things already sound lightwave ish and thats absolutely great, that would cover pathanimation, i saw a bit of that in doing a turntable animation on the digital tutors section.

Building on that would we be talking chops if i where to give a small offset to a traditional pathanimation i.e. giving it a casual shake?

thanks for the fast reply btw

cheers

ric
clumsycloudy
Partly i posted this question because when i downloaded your free version i got a mail thats mentioned: