Search - User list
Full Version: Create intermediate directory & Overwrite existing .usd file
Root » PDG/TOPs » Create intermediate directory & Overwrite existing .usd file
ikoon
Please, I am new to the TOPs and I have four questions about file and directory permissions.

Overwriting existing .usd files:

ROP USD Output TOP node - does NOT overwrite an existing .usd file (after I "Dirty and Cook This Node")
USD ROP LOP node - DOES overwrite an existing .usd file (after I manually press the "Save to Disk" button)

1. Should I use the "File Remove TOP node" to delete the .usd file first?
2. Or should I set the permissions somewhere?

Creating intermediate directories:

USD Render TOP node - does NOT create missing intermediate directories (after I "Dirty and Cook This Node")
Karma LOP node - DOES create missing directories (after I manually press the "Save to Disk" button)

3. Should I use the "Make Directory TOP node"?
4. Or should I set the permissions somewhere?

Best regards,
J.
ikoon
As regards creating intermediate directories with USD Render TOP node, I stumbled upon this solution:

https://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini/ref/utils/husk.html [www.sidefx.com]
--make-output-path
tpetrick
ikoon
ROP USD Output TOP node - does NOT overwrite an existing .usd file (after I "Dirty and Cook This Node")

This is because the file already exists on disk. PDG processor nodes typically have an option to enable caching of output files -- by default, if the file exists the work item cooks from cache on the next cook. If you Ctrl+MMB on a work item dot, you'll see the status is set to "Cooked from Cache" instead of "Cooked". The different cache mode options are documented here: https://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini/nodes/top/ropfetch.html#pdg_cachemode [www.sidefx.com]