selections ?

   1989   6   2
User Avatar
Member
767 posts
Joined: 4月 2014
Offline
How do you do procedural selections ?
【T】【C】【S】
User Avatar
Member
280 posts
Joined:
Offline
can you be more specific? what are you trying to select?
User Avatar
Member
767 posts
Joined: 4月 2014
Offline
I want to know what methods a procedural selection can be done ?
【T】【C】【S】
User Avatar
Member
24 posts
Joined: 7月 2014
Offline
The group-node does procedural selection.
Otherwise you can make groups in a wrangle node:
if ( condition )
{
i@group_groupName = true;
}


Is that what you're asking?
User Avatar
Member
767 posts
Joined: 4月 2014
Offline
I suppose what I want is, grouping without using the group sop, or writing points or primitives to a group. @mart1jn, I suppose that may be what I want; is there any other method ?
【T】【C】【S】
User Avatar
Member
671 posts
Joined: 9月 2013
Offline
You can also work with attributes right away. That way you can even do transitions. While with groups it´s either points are in or out.
https://procegen.konstantinmagnus.de/ [procegen.konstantinmagnus.de]
User Avatar
Member
4549 posts
Joined: 2月 2012
Offline
You can select procedurally in unlimited ways. Here is how to select edge loops and rings in VEX:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/pl9vvxdww8our0i/SelectEdgeLoop_SOP_Animatrix.otl?dl=1 [www.dropbox.com]
https://www.dropbox.com/s/za9fdgsn9t7bklc/SelectEdgeRing_SOP_Animatrix.otl?dl=1 [www.dropbox.com]

You can also do this in Python but it will be “infinitely” slower as the input geometry (not input group) gets larger.
Senior FX TD @ Industrial Light & Magic
Get to the NEXT level in Houdini & VEX with Pragmatic VEX! [www.pragmatic-vfx.com]

youtube.com/@pragmaticvfx | patreon.com/animatrix | pragmaticvfx.gumroad.com
  • Quick Links