Save Desktop Across Dual Monitors?

   8696   6   2
User Avatar
Member
17 posts
Joined: Feb. 2008
Offline
I have 21“ and 17” monitors setup in Dualview display mode.

I've saved the Build desktop with the Network View pane on the 17" monitor and this works nicely.

When I restart Houdini, the Netwtork View is absent from the second monitor. However if I switch to and from the Build desktop within the same session, the correct layout is restored.

Cinema 4D is able to save desktops across both monitors in Dualview mode between sessions. Is there a setting in Houdini which will allow me to do this?
User Avatar
Member
1631 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Hi there,

You can start Houdini with
houdini -span

Here's the thread [sidefx.com] with the relevant information.

Cheers!
steven
User Avatar
Member
17 posts
Joined: Feb. 2008
Offline
Thanks for the reply.

I've added houdini -span to the shortcut target.

With the shortcut set to “Run: Normal window”, Houdini spans both monitors on startup but the 21“ monitor's vertical resolution matches the 17” monitor. When set to “Run: Maximised”, spanning doesn't occur.

I'd like Houdini to start with the main interface maximised on the 21“ monitor and the Network View pane maximised on the 17” monitor.

Anyway, this is a start. I'll experiment with environment variables and display settings, and see what I come up with.
User Avatar
Staff
5138 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Maximized windows on multi-monitor setups usually size to one monitor, which is a definition of the window manager you're using (unfortunately, all of them do this).

When using -span, Houdini will size the window so that it spans both monitors. If the resolutions in the non-spanning direction aren't the same it will use the smaller resolution to avoid hiding some of the interface on you.

You can also use ‘houdini -geometry=WxH+X+Y’ to position your window anywhere you like, and ‘houdini -screen <n>’ is a shortcut to the above for positioning on any given screen.
User Avatar
Member
13 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
What magic incantation does KDE need to make houdini -span work properly? Currently it just places the houdini window on the 2nd monitor at startup.
User Avatar
Member
14 posts
Joined: Oct. 2011
Offline
lisa
What magic incantation does KDE need to make houdini -span work properly? Currently it just places the houdini window on the 2nd monitor at startup.

Gnome desktop does the same thing. Any solution for this?
User Avatar
Member
131 posts
Joined: Oct. 2011
Offline
Does Houdini really support spanning on Windows 7 even if you have 1 nvidia graphics card, where they require to have 2 to use spanning capabilities as far as I know?
  • Quick Links