Houdini On latest version of Ubuntu Linux

11531   14   2
26 posts
I am new to Linux system, I want some information related to which download I have to use for latest version of Ubuntu Linux
Hi there
It all depends which version of linux you are using.
I use Ubuntustudio x64 myself and have had no problems running Houdini. On the download page it gives you all the Linux platforms on which Houdini runs with the appropriate downloads
26 posts
I just install Ubuntu 8.04 & I am trying to install Houdini Apprentice (for Ubuntu Linux 7.04).
…. and now when ever I am trying to install it gives me error (unable to connect the server)…. I checked my net n it works properly….. :cry: :cry: :cry:
Hi

Did you manage to install houdini? and if so, do you get this message when you try to run houdini from the applications menu?
301 posts
conjuror
I just install Ubuntu 8.04 & I am trying to install Houdini Apprentice (for Ubuntu Linux 7.04).
…. and now when ever I am trying to install it gives me error (unable to connect the server)…. I checked my net n it works properly….. :cry: :cry: :cry:

If you are on 64bit Ubuntu 8.04, that probably means gcc-4.2 so I believe the correct version to install would be the “Lenny” build.

I have no experience with the 32bit version of Ubuntu 8.04

Regards
Nicholas Yue
26 posts
what to do ? :cry:

Attachments:
why.jpg (88.6 KB)

You're running as root when you install the key? Also, is that the name of your workstation? Seems a little odd to have the word ‘desktop’ in a system name…

Cheers,

J.C.
John Coldrick
1145 posts
Namaste Suneel,

Where did you install Houdini? It should be in /opt.

Just to review the steps for Ubuntu.

Use the “sudo” command before most of your command line actions.

- sudo mv “houdini_version.tar.gz” /opt

- cd /opt

- sudo tar -zxvf “houdini_version.tar.gz”

- cd “expanded houdini install directory”

- sudo ./houdini_install

You want to install both the application and the license server.