[Q]: How to create "recursive" geometry ??

   3862   5   1
User Avatar
Member
94 posts
Joined: 12月 2008
Offline
Hi !

I want to create some geometry, that is recursive.
But I am stuck.
something in the lines of

func (x,y,z,size,level,Obj)
for i=0 to 2
for j=0 to 2
for k=0 to 2
if (i!=1) or (j!=1) or (k!=1) then
if level>0 then
func (x+i*size,y+j*size,z+k*size,size/3,level-1,Obj)
else Obj(x+i*size,y+j*size,z+k*size,size)
next k
next j
next i
removeDoublePoints()
removeDoubleEdges()
removeDoubleFaces()
SetPivot()
endfunc

Using Geometry nodes should be inappropriate, because I guess, I am not allowed to feedback a nodes output…

What did I miss… ??

TIA !
If you can't script/program it, it's no good at all !
User Avatar
Member
4261 posts
Joined: 7月 2005
Offline
There is a Feedback SOP in the protoinstall.
if(coffees<2,round(float),float)
User Avatar
Member
94 posts
Joined: 12月 2008
Offline
Wolfwood
There is a Feedback SOP in the protoinstall.

THX Wolfwood,

but you're just confuzing me. I'm still confuzed. Only “Feedback” node found so far is a CHOP… (me still noob!!) and the 9.5 online help did not show anything related to protoinstall.

I thought I could use some Hscript/Python, to implement that function.

Thanks for your suggestion anyway!
Edited by - 2009年1月5日 15:37:38
If you can't script/program it, it's no good at all !
User Avatar
Member
7717 posts
Joined: 7月 2005
Online
Offhand, I don't think there should be any issues in creating a Python SOP for recursion if you want to go that route.
User Avatar
Member
12467 posts
Joined: 7月 2005
Offline
Also, look at the ForEach SOP
Jason Iversen, Technology Supervisor & FX Pipeline/R+D Lead @ Weta FX
also, http://www.odforce.net [www.odforce.net]
User Avatar
スタッフ
5158 posts
Joined: 7月 2005
Offline
but you're just confuzing me. I'm still confuzed. Only “Feednack” node found so far is a CHOP… (me still noob!!) and the 9.5 online help did not show anything related to protoinstall.

You need to run the command line tool, proto_install. Select Windows->Shell from the main menu. Then do:

source $H/houdini_setup
proto_install


SOP_Feedback.inst should be somewhere in the list; enter the number & select “2) Install in …/houdini9.7”. Restart Houdini, and it should appear in the SOP list.

Proto-installed OPs are operators that are not yet tested for full production use, so use them with care.
  • Quick Links