Question about volume mixing

3552   4   1
31 posts
Hey I'm a college student working on my reel and I'm working on something a little complicated that I could use some tips on. I'm trying to get water to pour into a cup and as it splashes out it will (hopefully) ignite into fire. I was told to research volume mixing to get my desired effect. I'm familiar with Houdini but I still have a lot to learn. I can get the water into the cup just fine but transforming it into fire is my issue. Any tips would be much appreciated. Thanks!

P.S. here is the reference I'm currently using

http://www.1280x800wallpaper.com/details/l9trp/fire-and-water-1280x800-wallpaper-l9trp.jpg [1280x800wallpaper.com]
349 posts
Your link gives this…

403 Permission Denied
You do not have permission for this request /details/l9trp/fire-and-water-1280x800-wallpaper-l9trp.jpg
31 posts
sorry about that. I uploaded the image to make it easier

Attachments:
fire-water1.jpg (133.3 KB)

257 posts
From your reference it looks like you have one liquid (isosurface) that might need to blend shader/color wise.
Kinda like the liquid is blue when it enters the glass, and turns red after it has collided with the glass, or comes in contact with other red particles.

I would approach that with a flip sim (liquid), and simply attribute transfer a color from the bottom of the glass onto the particles insided of a sopsolver, combined with an attribute transfer to transfer color from a red particle to the next red particle.

– -those are the basics.