How to desaturate image in Houdini (COP2 Network)?

   839   7   1
User Avatar
Member
230 posts
Joined: 7月 2013
Offline
I want to desaturate an image form colour to black and white within Houdini. I understand this can be done in a COP2 Network. WHich node would I use to desaturate and which parameter do I adjust?

The image is an HDRI to be used in an Environment Light, so I assume this is the method to use.
User Avatar
Member
1747 posts
Joined: 5月 2006
Offline
HSV node, turn saturation scale down.
http://www.tokeru.com/cgwiki [www.tokeru.com]
https://www.patreon.com/mattestela [www.patreon.com]
User Avatar
Member
4540 posts
Joined: 2月 2012
Online
Hi,

You can use the HSV COP:

mestela beat me to it dammit!

Edited by animatrix_ - 2024年1月25日 01:43:51
Senior FX TD @ Industrial Light & Magic
Get to the NEXT level in Houdini & VEX with Pragmatic VEX! [www.pragmatic-vfx.com]

youtube.com/@pragmaticvfx | patreon.com/animatrix | pragmaticvfx.gumroad.com
User Avatar
Member
230 posts
Joined: 7月 2013
Offline
Thanks, how do you show the image in the viewport? Composite View presumably?

OK Got it to work. Thanks.

It shows a desaturated image in the Composite View OK.
Edited by litote - 2024年1月25日 05:10:50
User Avatar
Member
4540 posts
Joined: 2月 2012
Online
litote
Thanks, how do you show the image in the viewport? Composite View presumably?

OK Got it to work. Thanks.

It shows a desaturated image in the Composite View OK.

If you cook the COP network node, it should show the result in the viewport.
Senior FX TD @ Industrial Light & Magic
Get to the NEXT level in Houdini & VEX with Pragmatic VEX! [www.pragmatic-vfx.com]

youtube.com/@pragmaticvfx | patreon.com/animatrix | pragmaticvfx.gumroad.com
User Avatar
Member
230 posts
Joined: 7月 2013
Offline
How do I stop the COP2 Network image showing in the Scene View? Presumably I have to put it inside a Geometry node and deactivate its display flag?
User Avatar
Member
4540 posts
Joined: 2月 2012
Online
litote
How do I stop the COP2 Network image showing in the Scene View? Presumably I have to put it inside a Geometry node and deactivate its display flag?

You can display another node like a null node.
Senior FX TD @ Industrial Light & Magic
Get to the NEXT level in Houdini & VEX with Pragmatic VEX! [www.pragmatic-vfx.com]

youtube.com/@pragmaticvfx | patreon.com/animatrix | pragmaticvfx.gumroad.com
User Avatar
Member
230 posts
Joined: 7月 2013
Offline
I think My app was acting oddly. The image does not show in the Scene View now, so it may have been a glitch.
  • Quick Links