coke can disintegration experiments

8884   2   0
152 posts
Just a little project i've been working on for fun and learning…

video [forums.odforce.net]

I know most of you read both odForce and sidefx forums but i just thought i'd share my project here as well for those who are not familiar with odForce!

You can find more details here [forums.odforce.net]

Please feel free to ask questions, post comments, and offer suggestions!

Cheers,
Jonathan
6 posts
This is an amazing effect, love the particle movement. Rendering is beautiful.

The only slight problem i can see with it is the highlight on the can near the top isn't transfered to the particles at the start, but it is very unnoticeable, took a few viewings to notice. Otherwise perfect.

How long did this take you to create?

Also im relatively new to Houdini and have been wanting to create a similar effect, could you post a brief overview/ tutorial on how to create the basic effect?

Thanks
152 posts
hello,

thanks. the effect didn't take long at all to get the overall basic effect look. Probably only a few hours. However, it quickly turned into a much larger project when I used it to learn more aspects in houdini.

For example, originally i just wanted to learn more about the “delayed load shader” and see how far I could push it. Eventually, once I got the hang of that, the dynamics could use tweaking, and so I learned more about advecting particles with a fluid simulation. Currently, i'm working on getting the paint to actually bump up, crack, and peel off, fly away and then disintegrate. The can will also have little pieces crumble off of it and either fall to the ground or fly away with the rest of the effect.

As for the “how to's” , if you have not already done so, please refer to the link i provided in my first post. Some of it's a bit long winded, but I documented every part of my journey and provide almost all of the links to other pieces of information that were used to learn how to accomplish this.