What iMac setup is the best for using Houdini

3359   7   0
50 posts
Hi, I am a 3D artist and I am getting into VFX (mostly sims like fire, fluid, sand, explosions, etc). The problem is, I currently have an iMac late 2015 model with the lowest specs: . I understand that sidefx.com says that I need at least 8 RAM but that 64 is recommended. I bought this one course about doing fluid sims, fire etc, and I can't even cache a pretty low res simulation or fire because it keeps freezing up my computer after about the 60th frame (I can't hardly do anything during the caching either). Do I need more RAM, faster processor, or a better GPU or a combination of them all? Also, I do a lot of rendering in Blender and that is pretty slow too. So, does anyone know what would be the best move for me (buying an iMac with more RAM, a Mac Pro, or what). All help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Benjamin
833 posts
First of all, don't buy a Mac Pro right now, new models are due toward the end of the year/early next year which will be much better.

Secondly, you don't tell us the specs of your current machine, maybe it doesn't matter if you're going to replace it, but it's good practice to mention what you're using right now and at the moment I have no idea how you can improve it since I don't know what it is.

Thirdly, you don't say what your budget range is. That makes some recommendations kinda moot if you can't afford what I'm suggesting.

So to answer your question, a top of the line iMac Pro with 18 cores and 64Gb of RAM would be your best option. It's also crazy expensive, but if you can afford it, go for it.

If that is too rich for you, I'd still suggest you try to get your hands on an 8-core iMac Pro with at least 32Gb of RAM.

If that's too expensive still, you could try your hand with one of the brand new Mac Book Pro's with 6-core CPU's which were just announced yesterday. Try to get 32Gb of RAM, but 16Gb might be ok if your simulations aren't terribly complex.