promoting tool interfaces

13127   7   3
5 posts
hello, I have been working on procedural applications for building forests and parks. my plan is to provide a host of trees and plants and then use particle scaling to determine the plant size. the bigger the scale the bigger the plant. I also plan to use the paint sop to affect the scale of the particles similar to the forest tutorial, but what I want to do is make the system into an otl and allow the user to paint the scale from the top level interface. I can promote all the attributes from the sop itself but I need a way to access the tool. I imagine I could get at it by writing a script if I could figure out what houdini is doing to access the tool and creating a button or something that will do that from the top, but I'm still kind of new to the software and I'm not sure where to look for this information. any help here would be awesome. thanks
1905 posts
It's pretty straight forward to do but requires a couple things.

First off you need to make sure the Paint SOP is set as an editable node. This way you can have it function while still being inside the locked asset. Secondly all you really need to do to activate the paint state is to create a simple callback script that sets the node to be current and tells the scene viewer to enter the current node's state.

Here's an example of the script in the PythonModule that gets called by the button callback. The file with the actual asset is attached.

def paintIt(scriptargs):
sopnode = scriptargs
viewer = toolutils.sceneViewer()

paint_node = sopnode.node(“paint”)

paint_node.setCurrent(True, True)
viewer.enterCurrentNodeState()

Attachments:
enter_editable_node_state.hipnc (55.3 KB)

Graham Thompson, Technical Artist @ Rockstar Games
52 posts
yeah that works, yet there seems to be an inherent issue with this method.

Since the python module is modifying the paintSop, this seems not to work if the HDA is locked, which I guess is the usual case.