Houdini doesn't appear

   4338   6   2
User Avatar
Member
2 posts
Joined: June 2006
Offline
Hi, all.

Here's our problem: hmaster.exe and hserver.exe both show up in task manager when houdini is launched, but no houdini window appears. Nada. Nothing.

Hkey works, and shows our license server as working and serving valid licenses.

We've tried installing both houdini-8.0.564-win32.exe and houdini-8.1.625-win32.exe, and have the same problem with both.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Andrew
User Avatar
Member
1628 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Hi,

It would help if you post more information like OS, CPU, graphics card etc. If you're using Nvidia cards, please download the drivers from Nvidia's site and try to use the 77.xx versions instead.

If you're using ATI, please search through the forum for more information as ATI drivers do not have good OpenGL support.

Cheers!
steven
User Avatar
Member
2 posts
Joined: June 2006
Offline
Hey.

I tried the 77.xx Nvidia drivers as per your suggestion. Unfortunately, they didn't help.

Here's the requested system info:

Dell Precision 670 Workstation
Windows 2000 SP4
Nvidia Quadro FX 1300
Intel Xeon 3.00 GHz
2GB RAM

Any further suggestions would be much appreciated.

Andrew
User Avatar
Member
1628 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Hi Andrew,

I'm not sure if Win2000 is supported for Houdini 8.x. I guess someone from SESI will confirm it for you. Or send an email to support to confirm.

Good luck!

Cheers!
steven
User Avatar
Member
14 posts
Joined: Jan. 2006
Offline
I'm not sure if Win2000 is supported for Houdini 8.x. I guess someone from SESI will confirm it for you. Or send an email to support to confirm.

I'm running Houdini 8.1.604 on Win2K Pro. So far so good.
User Avatar
Member
1628 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Hi Andrew,

If you get Houdini up & running, please post the solution.

Cheers!
steven
User Avatar
Member
10 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Try to turn of the sound in the Control Panel! It worked on my W2K-box.
  • Quick Links