Houdini 15 UI problems on OS X 10.10.5

   2880   7   2
User Avatar
Member
3 posts
Joined: Dec. 2013
Offline
I have a macbook pro osx 10.10.5 with intel Iris pro 1536MB
Im getting strange UI behaviour, it works nicely on the native retina display but once I dragged it to another window the ui gets corrupted and unusable.
Any advice?
Thanks!
User Avatar
Member
97 posts
Joined: March 2009
Offline
seeing the same issue here.
User Avatar
Staff
2150 posts
Joined: Sept. 2007
Offline
You may want to log a bug for that. Include your system and graphic card specs, along with your resolution settings and monitor info. Thanks!
https://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_forum&Itemid=172&page=viewtopic&t=15603 [sidefx.com]
Chris McSpurren
Senior Quality Assurance Specialist
SideFX
User Avatar
Member
97 posts
Joined: March 2009
Offline
done
User Avatar
Member
8 posts
Joined: Oct. 2006
Offline
Out of curiosity did this get resolved? I am having this problem as well. Any Houdini window I drag to my (non-retina) secondary monitor changes resolution of the interface and makes it unusable. I am certain that it has to do with the high DPI of the retina display, but this problem just started with 15 for me. 14 works fine from monitor to monitor.

I am currently running a new MBP running 10.10.5, with a 27" Cinema Display as my secondary monitor. I am also Running 15.0.244.16 of Houdini, but I am downloading 15.0.347 right now to see if there is a resolution to the problem in that build.
AlphaJoe
User Avatar
Member
8 posts
Joined: Oct. 2006
Offline
I just wanted to check back on this. I logged a bug regarding the retina display issues, but they said they knew it was a problem and that they were working on it. Has anyone heard anything new on this?

It is enough of an issue that I am not moving to 15 until it is resolved. I cannot move windows between monitors because it corrupts the interface as soon as I cross from one monitor to the other. I also cannot do training presentations because the projector is obviously not retina, and as soon as I plug in to the projector the interface turns to garbage.
AlphaJoe
User Avatar
Staff
4482 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
You could try setting the environment variable HOUDINI_ENABLE_RETINA = 0 to see if that resolves the problem. You won't get high DPI display, but it might resolve the issue.
User Avatar
Member
8 posts
Joined: Oct. 2006
Offline
I will give this a try when I get to work tomorrow. Thanks for the info.
AlphaJoe
  • Quick Links