how to hide pyro sim source volume?

7240   7   4
3 posts
Hello everyone,

excuse me I'm pretty new to Houdini and this may be a really beginner question
but I'm doing a pyro sim (using 16.5) and i'm sourcing it from fluid source with point stamp (calculated velocities on points)
now everything is working good but i want to hide the source from the final result of the sim, it's sourced using a source volume node inside the DOP network but i don't want it to show up after solving as the points now look like a grainy blob in the middle of my sim

I hope this was clear enough, and I attached the hip file anyway
Edited by EmamFX - July 27, 2019 06:52:37

Attachments:
Pyro_Question.hip (1.3 MB)

310 posts
No hip file attached! Also, that source is where fuel comes from, so it needs to be visible, because that's the hottest part of what is emitting. If you cut the source after a certain number of frames, then the source will disappear. What I'm trying to say is, it sounds like you are assuming something is a problem that is behaving the way it should be.
130 posts
Hey EmamFX
yeah sometimes you might need to hide the source as it might appear very dense and visually look bad. in that case you can use VDBcombine SOP and subtract the source volume from your simed volume, but prepare your source volume before subtracting to have a nice fall off other wise you might end up having a harsh edge.

Best,
Mohan Pugaz
Edited by Mohanpugaz - July 24, 2019 06:16:53
Mohan Pugaz
movfx
https://www.instagram.com/movfx/ [www.instagram.com]
https://www.youtube.com/channel/@_movfx
3 posts
Midasssilver
No hip file attached! Also, that source is where fuel comes from, so it needs to be visible, because that's the hottest part of what is emitting. If you cut the source after a certain number of frames, then the source will disappear. What I'm trying to say is, it sounds like you are assuming something is a problem that is behaving the way it should be.