Nodes called for in beginner tuts do not exist in H19

3237   11   1
10 posts
Hi. I am a complete noob to Houdini. I am running on H19 Indie.

I have been attempting to complete the Soccer Ball and the Wine Glass tuts. Unfortunately, I am getting stuck on both of them because the videos and even the .pdfs call for nodes that do not exist in Houdini v19.

A perfect example is the Soccer Ball tut where the video calls for a 'for-each loop'

but, there is no for-each loop node. There are a number of other 'for each' nodes
but, none of them work for the tutorial and I can't find anything about what is the proper replacement node that I should be using instead.

I'm having a similar problem with the Wine Glass tut. In this case, both the video and the .pdf call for nodes that don't seem to exist anymore.

I'm very frustrated.
Edited by JKVisFX - 2021年12月12日 12:02:18

Attachments:
foreach menu from H19.jpg (77.4 KB)
foreach loop from video.JPG (17.3 KB)

670 posts
Try "for each named primitive" instead.
https://procegen.konstantinmagnus.de/ [procegen.konstantinmagnus.de]
10 posts
Thanks, Konstantine, for your response.

I used that node. It had all of the same settings as the 'foreach loop' node and I made absolutely certain I had all of the settings identical to the video but, instead of the ball showing at the 'foreach_end1' node, the ball just does not show at all. This brings me to a dead stop. I have re-done this part of the tut quite a few times and keep getting the same result. Any thoughts?
Edited by JKVisFX - 2021年12月12日 20:01:18
236 posts
Do you have a hip file?

L
I'm not lying, I'm writing fiction with my mouth.
10 posts
Hi tinyhawkus. Yes, I do have a .hip file, rather, it's a .hiplc file. Here you go...

Attachments:
Soccar Ball.hiplc (98.5 KB)

236 posts
You see the ! on your attribute create, it's telling there's a problem. That is the heart of the problem.