Nearest unique/exclusive point using VEX?

5779   4   1
319 posts
Hello,

I have written a vex sop which finds the nearest n points and their distances in a point cloud. The functionality also includes the ability to plug in a second point cloud to input 2 to use as the ‘query point cloud’. It is basically a pcopen/search using code which I wanted to create for myself as I find wiring together the pc vops to do this task a little convoluted.

What I want to do now, is write another vex sop which will compute the nearest exclusive or unique point for each point (so each points recorded nearest point will never be a duplicate). I have already written nearest point and nearest unique point Python sops, but with large point clouds these become very very slow to compute. The vex nearest point sop is almost instant, even plugging in 1 million points, where the Python nearest point sop takes 10 minutes plus for a million points.

I am not a VEX expert by any stretch, and after looking into the nearest unique point setup I am unsure as to if it is actually possible with VEX due to its SIMD architecture. The Python version I have basically works like this:-

- Get the nearest point and its distance for every point

- Sort points by the distance (so now the point with the smallest distance to its nearest point is now point 0, and the point with the largest distance to its closest point is point N)

- Loop through points again, now smallest distance to largest distance, and again find the nearest point out of all the points for each point, but this time, every time we find a nearest point, remove that point from the list of eligible points to be searched before we search again for the next point.