AMD ProRenderer for Houdini/FX and Houdini Indie?

   2943   9   2
User Avatar
Member
45 posts
Joined: Feb. 2014
Offline
Hello guys!

So AMD is creating an open-source free GPU renderar and more alternatives is always great, at the moment it is available in Maya, Max, Rhino And Solidworks, is soon available in Blender and Cinema 4D.

http://www.amd.com/en-us/innovations/software-technologies/radeon-pro-technologies/radeon-prorender [amd.com]

Any chances it might be coming to Houdini/Houdini Indie? Would be sweet to have a free GPU-renderer for single artists who can't afford the likes of RedShift and Octane.

What do you think about ProRenderer? Does it have a place in Houdini?(As third-party alternative, not included)

Best regards

//Morgan
Edited by MorganNilsson - Dec. 23, 2016 08:54:43
User Avatar
Member
1804 posts
Joined: June 2008
Offline
A little late to the game I think. Why would Blender need another GPU render when they have Cycles? Because of the close ties with Adobe and Apple's dumb move of including AMD card in their Pro Trash Can line of computers Maxxon has recently adopted this as the new GPU renderer for C4D.

If they really wanted it to be Open source they would publish the scene definition language so anyone could write an exporter. When I visit the developers page I can't find that. Even Arnold publishes that [support.solidangle.com] and they are not even open source.

I guess another freebie is always welcome. I am not sure how useful it will be against heavy scene or instancing, however. But for simple product shot rendering it might be cool if you are stuck on a mac.
Edited by Enivob - Dec. 24, 2016 09:26:30
Using Houdini Indie

Windows 7 32GB AMD FX8370 @ 4.1Ghz
nVidia 1070GTX 8BG RAM. Driver: 397.31
User Avatar
Member
228 posts
Joined: July 2006
Offline
Also, since nvidia as been the standard for 3Ding, like, for ever, I don't see how they can get into the market besides targeting Macs with AMD cards.
User Avatar
Member
3911 posts
Joined: June 2012
Offline
@A-OC not sure what you mean; it's openCL, like, so it'll run on all Nvidia as well.

According to Maxon: “ProRender will fully support Nvidia as well as graphics cards on Windows, and as the vendor of choice for Apple hardware, AMD is in the best possible position to support .”
http://www.cgchannel.com/2016/10/maxon-picks-amds-radeon-prorender-for-cinema-4d/ [cgchannel.com]
User Avatar
Member
228 posts
Joined: July 2006
Offline
Yeah, I figured, but should we trust that?

I mean it's an AMD product, should we trust them they will put as much effort in supporting equally well nvidia cards ?
Edited by A-OC - Jan. 3, 2017 20:21:04
User Avatar
Member
3911 posts
Joined: June 2012
Offline
just look for benchmark results; trust is too biased.
User Avatar
Member
20 posts
Joined: July 2015
Offline
NVIDIA crippled their 10series to force people into quadro range for heavy computing.
They expressed negative opinion about consumer grade gpus being able to run pro computation for a long time so it was all coming.

Redshift devs discovered this forced downclock at the release of 10series and several drivers and months later its still unresolved so…

Add to this the fact that SLI is far more limited than previous generations and the 1080 having less cuda cores than a 780 makes it all more than a coincidence - There is a pattern of purposeful downgrading.

As CUDA is proprietary NVIDIA hardware only, they can force downclocks all they want, they risk no rival outperforming them on CUDA.

OpenCL however is hardware agnostic so theres healthy competition… which obviously results in manufacturers keeping their stuff competitive to avoid risk of being outperformed.
User Avatar
Member
359 posts
Joined: Nov. 2008
Offline
Hi, Dan could you please post a link to RedShift discussion with more details about this issue?
User Avatar
Member
20 posts
Joined: July 2015
Offline
https://www.redshift3d.com/forums/viewthread/11101/ [redshift3d.com]
User Avatar
Member
359 posts
Joined: Nov. 2008
Offline
Thanks
  • Quick Links