Console warning Warning: QT_DEVICE_PIXEL_RATIO

   14879   6   3
User Avatar
Member
5 posts
Joined:
Offline
I'm getting this Console message: “Qt Warn: Warning: QT_DEVICE_PIXEL_RATIO is deprecated. Instead use:
QT_AUTO_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTOR to enable platform plugin controlled per-screen factors.
QT_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTORS to set per-screen factors.
QT_SCALE_FACTOR to set the application global scale factor.”

How to fix it?
www.lukx.com
User Avatar
Staff
1192 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
That's weird. Houdini doesn't even reference QT_DEVICE_PIXEL_RATIO.

You could try a clean environment by temporarily moving aside your user prefs directory (i.e. $HOME/houdini16.0) and also unsetting any HOUDINI_* and QT_* variables in your environment. Then see if Houdini still produces those warnings.

And if that doesn't work then I'm not sure what else to try.

In the worst case scenario you can ignore those warnings. They are pretty harmless.

Cheers,
Rob
User Avatar
Member
1 posts
Joined: Sept. 2017
Offline
Hello, I have the same error. I can't even start the Houdini program at all.
It keep showing the error and license window.
I was going to stury houdini with free license but I can't even start.
User Avatar
Staff
1192 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Artsvard
Hello, I have the same error. I can't even start the Houdini program at all.
It keep showing the error and license window.
I was going to stury houdini with free license but I can't even start.

If the license window appears then it sounds like a licensing issue that is preventing Houdini from launching. The QT_DEVICE_PIXEL_RATIO warning is likely unrelated and harmless.

Have you completed installing free Apprentice licenses on your machine?

Also, you may want to check out the License sections in the Houdini FAQs:
https://www.sidefx.com/faq/ [www.sidefx.com]

There may be something in the FAQs that helps address the issue that you are running into.

Cheers,
Rob
User Avatar
Member
1 posts
Joined: Aug. 2018
Offline
For anyone else with the same problem, you probably have an QT environment variable that can be removed.
So the solution is to delete the system environment variable “QT_DEVICE_PIXEL_RATIO” with the key “auto”, and the errors will go away.
User Avatar
Member
1 posts
Joined: Oct. 2017
Offline
3DMikael
For anyone else with the same problem, you probably have an QT environment variable that can be removed.
So the solution is to delete the system environment variable “QT_DEVICE_PIXEL_RATIO” with the key “auto”, and the errors will go away.
Where is the “QT_DEVICE_PIXEL_RATIO”
User Avatar
Member
1 posts
Joined: May 2020
Offline
JulianMateus
3DMikael
For anyone else with the same problem, you probably have an QT environment variable that can be removed.
So the solution is to delete the system environment variable “QT_DEVICE_PIXEL_RATIO” with the key “auto”, and the errors will go away.
Where is the “QT_DEVICE_PIXEL_RATIO”

Right click “This PC” icon>Properties>Advanced System Settings>Advanced>Environmental Variables> Here are two lists.
Delete "QT_DEVICE_PIXEL_RATIO auto“ from ”User“ list and ”System" list, save.
  • Quick Links