UE4 HDA landscape workflow

3693   2   0
10 posts
Hi!

Hope all you are well and creating awesome stuff!.

I would like to post a question to obtain as many insights as i can. Im new to Houdini, so we are probably not understanding the whole picture, and i would to understand as much as possible. I researched the situation i will exposed and havent found an answer.

Our goal is to create a landscape workflow based mostly in HDA's, the idea is to get most of our landscape editing inside Unreal. For scattering stuff and related tasks our HDA's work really great, but when it comes to modify the actual landscape, we have some pesky workflow troubles. Let me expose the situation with the simplest of example:

1- I create a HDA inside Houdini. The only thing that it does is to receive a Landscape input and add noise to it. Thats it.

2- Once in Unreal, I create a new scene and add a landscape to it. Just a simple landscape and hit the Create button. No editing, no nothing, as simple as it gets.

3- I then import and drop the HDA into the scene, assign the landscape to the HDA.

4 - HDA creates a new landscape with the result. The scene ends up having 2 landscapes, the original and the result of the HDA.

I didnt expect that to happen.

In my mind, if im using a landscape as input, the HDA would modify the given asset, not create a new one. I do understand this could create problems down the road, as if you add the HDA multiple times, how do they combine the result? (i would expect them to just overwrite) but for the simple example explained above i would like to understand what im missing.

In this case, what would be the right approach to have a ‘as non destructive as possible’ approach to edit stuff inside Unreal?, is that possible?.

Any suggestion or comment on the matter is welcome.

Thanks!
Staff
534 posts
Hi,

Thanks for the feedback.