an animator's questions about keyframes, timeline and animation editor

2369   2   1
129 posts
Working now almost daily with Houdini Indie I'd like to ask some questions about animation editor and timeline usage.
I'm sorry to mention Maya every time but I come from 22 years (!) of character animation using it.
I premise I love Houdini and I've been using it for almost 3 years now, I'm trying to migrate to it for all my work, but I'm experiencing some problems with keyframe animation. I have a lot of questions but these are the first

- One of the thing I do all the time in Maya is copying and pasting keyframes on the timeline. I select the keyframes on the “source” object and copy them, then paste it on the “destination” object timeline. If I do it in Houdini I can paste them only if the destination object is already animated, otherwise keyframes are not pasted.
Moreover I can't understand how they are pasted, I assume they are pasted starting from the frame I choose on the timeline, but they are not, they are in other positions in time; and sometimes not all the keyframes are pasted, only rotations, or only translations.

- I tried to copy/paste in anim editor, but if I copy translate keyframes on one object and paste them on another, the keyframes are pasted on rotations (!)

- If I delete all the keyframes from the timeline or from the anim editor, the channels are not set free as I expect, they remain colored with light green, there is no animation curve anymore, but they are connected to something … another problem coming from this “ghost” animation curve that remains active is that when I delete all the keyframes from an object, it doesn't remain where it is, it's moved in another position, and this is annoying.