Particle Lifetime measured in seconds? not for me!

4181   6   1
8 posts
Hey people,

any idea what the time measure for Particle Lifeexpectancy is? The documentation says it´s measured in seconds, but for me it´s not… is there an overwrite somewhere in the Project settings?

Thanks for your answer

cheers Linus
Staff
2540 posts
I would first check in DOPs to see how the attributes age and time relate. In DOPs this is the geometry spreadsheet in popobject/Geometry.
If you cut your lifetime to say 2 and then play forward you should see age reach 2 then particles die.

In SOPs you can distort time. Time Shift and Time Warp SOPs come to mind. These would cause the age attribute to not reflect time…

How did you set up your particle sim?
There's at least one school like the old school!
8 posts
thank you for replying.

I setup a very basic Autodop network since I am just learning the particle system in houdini:

I would like to have “floating” coffee beans around my CoffeeMug. So here is my thought:

1) create a thin Volume around my mug -> I polyextruded a Tube
2) fill the Volume with points -> points from Volume node
3) feed the points into my autoDopNetwork to generate Particles on these points.

myProblems:

a)generally: I am missing still some knowledge which attributes are mandatory for a sim to work, and where they have to be defined.
b)specifically: I cannot find the age/time relation that you mentioned earlier.
c)on particle generation right now, the particles(CoffeeBeans) are somewhat snapping from an initial position to their actual destination on the volumepoints - I have no clue where I can fix that. (—> okay I found out that the “offset” is caused by the AxisForce node that I forgot to mention)

maybe you can point me to a good tutorial on understanding the basics I mentioned above;
that would be a great help.
Edited by eLBrandzo - June 12, 2019 10:07:59

Attachments:
Active_Render.0035.0.png (450.6 KB)

8 posts
… so I found the missing link: