Octane Installation errors

5031   4   3
8 posts
I'm kind of at a loss here. I have the .env file pointing to the correct version of Octane, but I'm still getting the “intended for a different version” error message (attached). I still get the menus inside of houdini, but then I get another error (attached) when i click on any shelf button.

As a side note, but less important, now the redshift plugin doesn't work, as it did before.

Is something possibly wrong with the order of my paths? I'm not a developer, so prone to mess-ups.

Any help would be so much appreciated, Thanks!

Posting here because the OTOY forums seem to be useless.

Attachments:
houdini-octane-dso-error-01.png (626.7 KB)
houdini-octane-tool-error-01.png (326.7 KB)

833 posts
Why don't you use Packages?

>>Kays
For my Houdini tutorials and more visit:
https://www.youtube.com/c/RightBrainedTutorials [www.youtube.com]
8 posts
Midphase
Why don't you use Packages?

I have no idea what they are, but I will give this a watch, thanks!
105 posts
mknudy
I'm kind of at a loss here. I have the .env file pointing to the correct version of Octane, but I'm still getting the “intended for a different version” error message (attached). I still get the menus inside of houdini, but then I get another error (attached) when i click on any shelf button.

As a side note, but less important, now the redshift plugin doesn't work, as it did before.

Is something possibly wrong with the order of my paths? I'm not a developer, so prone to mess-ups.

Any help would be so much appreciated, Thanks!

Posting here because the OTOY forums seem to be useless.
Here is my package, hope it helps

{
“enable”:false,
“env” : [
{“OCTANE_ROOT”:“D:/Dropbox/Assets/Houdini_Tools/Renderers/Octane_2020.1.4.0_Houdini_18.0.532_vr_Win64”},
{“HOUDINI_PATH” : “${OCTANE_ROOT}”},
{“PATH” : “${OCTANE_ROOT}/bin”}
]
}
- David
16 posts
ayanm
I also have the same issue. I'm trying to run the demo version.