HDAs with pictures in the parameters tab?

   4680   13   2
User Avatar
Member
784 posts
Joined: 2月 2016
Offline
Let's say my digital asset lets me build different species of plants.
A menu in the parameters tab let me choose which species to start with, so that I can then play with the parameters to make some variation.

It would be very helpful for the end user to look at a preview thumbnail/image before selecting the starting species, to avoid wasting time to cook every species just to know how it looks like.

Is there any way to embed images in the parameters tab? With some python magic maybe? :p

Cheers
User Avatar
Member
6837 posts
Joined: 7月 2007
Offline
you may want to have a look at Icon Strip parameter
http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini/ref/windows/optype.html#parmtypes [www.sidefx.com]
Tomas Slancik
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
User Avatar
Member
556 posts
Joined: 6月 2006
Offline
tamte
you may want to have a look at Icon Strip parameter
http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini/ref/windows/optype.html#parmtypes [www.sidefx.com]

cool didn't know that!

whats also possible is pypanel and a html site:
pypanel: http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini/ref/windows/pythonpaneleditor.html [www.sidefx.com]
html: http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini/hom/browserpython.html [www.sidefx.com]
User Avatar
Member
77 posts
Joined: 2月 2017
Offline
I can not understand the help of “Make a icon strip parameter”


I tried to use .ico format image, it doesn't work.
And now, I am using .png format image, it works…
Edited by zengchen - 2018年8月13日 09:12:39
My Youtube Channel [www.youtube.com]
User Avatar
Member
784 posts
Joined: 2月 2016
Offline
Hey thanks for the tips guys.

Zeng, could you share the hip file by any chance? or just the code to make this reference to icon.

cheers!


(ps. I'm wondering if it accepts .svg files too)
User Avatar
Member
77 posts
Joined: 2月 2017
Offline
Andr
Zeng, could you share the hip file by any chance? or just the code to make this reference to icon.

Here's the hip file.
The Labels will be used as tooltips when the user hovers over an icon.
So I casually give some number to Labels at this case.
Edited by zengchen - 2018年8月13日 09:55:34

Attachments:
捕获.PNG (29.5 KB)
sample.zip (44.8 KB)

My Youtube Channel [www.youtube.com]
User Avatar
Member
784 posts
Joined: 2月 2016
Offline
Hey Zeng thanks, especially for providing also the python code.

Icons size is pretty small though. I guess there's no way to change the default size
User Avatar
Member
77 posts
Joined: 2月 2017
Offline
Andr
Icons size is pretty small though. I guess there's no way to change the default size
I also wonder if there are some ways to scale the icon. It's tooooooo small…
My Youtube Channel [www.youtube.com]
User Avatar
Member
784 posts
Joined: 2月 2016
Offline
I suddenly rmb about this frustrating limit, as I'm about to use the icon strip again.
So I've now submitted a feature request to SESI Support.
It's RFE #95064 , in case anybody needs to use bigger icons in the paramaters tab.

Cheers
User Avatar
Member
27 posts
Joined: 10月 2021
Offline
Any new about bigger icons? it's useless as small as it is.. :/

Thank you
Wow factor
User Avatar
Member
784 posts
Joined: 2月 2016
Offline
UI developing is generally a bit neglected by SideFX,
you should contact the Support Team and ask them to add your name to RFE #95064
I guess the more people, the better the chances are that they care about this.

cheers
Edited by Andr - 2022年10月5日 07:50:01
User Avatar
Member
165 posts
Joined: 10月 2016
Offline
Will not the pose libray show bigger icons? Don’t have time to dig here, but just asking. If so, the bigger icon feature seem to be implemented there somehow.
Full time IT-teacher (8y) / junior TD / Debian11 XFCE / Zbrush (Wine) / Python / VNC / networks / two small kids / BSc CS:CG / Stockholm
User Avatar
Member
784 posts
Joined: 2月 2016
Offline
I haven't tried the pose library yet, maybe it's a custom python panel built with pyqt?
User Avatar
Member
165 posts
Joined: 10月 2016
Offline
So far I have not seen any regular node feature to draw larger images in the parameter editor.

Maybe you could go another direction? (until the feature is implemented). For example draw previews in the viewport, either 3D or 2D. For example, just activate the UV view and load the images there? Or use a card.

Or procedurally build ”low res” geometry and skip images?
Full time IT-teacher (8y) / junior TD / Debian11 XFCE / Zbrush (Wine) / Python / VNC / networks / two small kids / BSc CS:CG / Stockholm
  • Quick Links