I've been badly cheated. Houdini is a programmer's world.

6841   44   3
37 posts
Hi

I studied Houdini polygonal proceduralism for 3 weeks trying to make a procedural model, and came to a disappointing conclusion:
In order to make a minimal transformation reserve for a procedural model you have to think 100 times more (compared to 3ds max) on each small part of the model while in 3ds max - in the same time I would have already created - manually - 200 model variants. If you just make a model with minimal transformation reserve then - yes - you will have to think 100 times longer than if you make one model variant in 3ds max, but if you have to create a model with a huge transformation reserve then it is a global work and I have turned from an artist into a pure programmer. To us (artists). - No, that's not true. Houdini is not for us. Houdini is a programmer's world. The procedural model was left unfinished and I didn't draw a single picture in 3 weeks

Houdini is a programmer's world.

Edited by Staglaitor - 2023年12月30日 15:51:32
37 posts
Sorry for my english - I've fixed a few bugs
89 posts
Hello,

- 3 weeks is nothing, you have to produce a serious number of assets before developing the mind skills. D
- It's not because you set 3 attributes in vex that you are a programmer

Before evaluating your productivity, did you enjoy that approach of modeling ?. It can't please everyone, and if those 3 weeks were a chore maybe Houdini is not the best fit for you.

They are other proc modeling solution around that are maybe easier to learn. And once you hit their limit you might want to come back to houdini and better appreciate the workflow and toolset.

Beside I'm curious, what was that first model you were working on ?
Gameloft
37 posts
PaQ WaK
- 3 weeks is nothing, you have to produce a serious number of assets before developing the mind skills. D

OK and what time i need to do so:
Your text to link here... [www.youtube.com]

PaQ WaK