Bullet physics implementation and other stuff

   299056   385   4
User Avatar
Member
1 posts
Joined: Oct. 2010
Offline
hey cybermax
How can i export you bullet primitive group with animation curve ,i want to test export it as fbx to other software ? I use chop ‘s geometry node and Attribute Scope is bullet_translate Rename Scope is tx ty tz .but i get the curve name tx0 tx1…. . with dop out curve i can use chop’s node dynamics and i can get curve name like piece0:tx,piece0:ty……. .and i have another question how can i use you bullet tool do rebreak :?: thank you
User Avatar
Member
37 posts
Joined: Sept. 2010
Offline
hi,

i try to compile your stuff max but i have this error :

Making SOP_EAssemble.o and /home/papi/houdini11.0/dso/SOP_EAssemble.so from SOP_EAssemble.cpp
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lGLU
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
Link failed

i use houdini 11.581 on ubuntu 10.04

can someone help or give the compiled stuf ?

thank Papi
http://www.papicrunch.net/GC-houdb/ [papicrunch.net]
User Avatar
Member
255 posts
Joined: Aug. 2009
Offline
alejandro: thx

baobao: I dont know, I newer work in this field. Maybe try trail sop, but I am not sure this help you. Ouuu and dont forgot that Its not only translation, but every object has rotation and rotation has order. Check SOP_ETransform.cpp for more info.

and “rebreak” you mean that some object colide and breaks and than again collide and breaks to the small pieces?? You can set different max_force for every constraint(or fracture), but you need to build your system, for eg. with foreach sop node, …


papi: try compile some cpp file from houdini HDK examples. I think that this is not any error in my code. I am not specialist in Linux, I know ony basics, so maby other users can help you!


PS: next video with GPU fluids come sooon. Performance for surface reconstruction is Awesome!!!
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
User Avatar
Staff
4158 posts
Joined: Sept. 2007
Offline
papi
hi,

i try to compile your stuff max but i have this error :

Making SOP_EAssemble.o and /home/papi/houdini11.0/dso/SOP_EAssemble.so from SOP_EAssemble.cpp
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lGLU
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
Link failed

i use houdini 11.581 on ubuntu 10.04

can someone help or give the compiled stuf ?

thank Papi

You need the GLU/GLUT libs/headers. Try:
sudo apt-get install freeglut3 freeglut3-dev

When you hit ‘link failed’ errors, spend some time on google searching for that same error, and your platform, etc… That will help you get better and better at working with code.
I'm o.d.d.
User Avatar
Member
37 posts
Joined: Sept. 2010
Offline
thank godleaf

other lib was missing but with help of google i find the right packtage

if some want the dso folder for houdini 10.810 64 bit gcc4.4

during the compilation i had some error but it 's seem to work …

Making SOP_EBullet.o and /home/crunch/houdini11.0/dso/SOP_EBullet.so from SOP_EBullet.cpp
SOP_EBullet.cpp: In member function ‘bool SOP_ESolver::createOutput(double)’:
SOP_EBullet.cpp:970: warning: unused variable ‘type’
Making SOP_EProperties.o and /home/crunch/houdini11.0/dso/SOP_EProperties.so from SOP_EProperties.cpp
Making SOP_ETransform.o and /home/crunch/houdini11.0/dso/SOP_ETransform.so from SOP_ETransform.cpp
SOP_ETransform.cpp: In member function ‘virtual OP_ERROR SOP_ETransform::cookMySop(OP_Context&)’:
SOP_ETransform.cpp:82: warning: unused variable ‘input_1’


thank agin cyber for your stuff

Attachments:
dso.tar.gz (593.5 KB)

http://www.papicrunch.net/GC-houdb/ [papicrunch.net]
User Avatar
Member
303 posts
Joined: May 2007
Offline
very nice
is your Surface Reconstruction node works for houdini's own points and particle? just like particlefluidsurface node.
https://vimeo.com/user3971456/videos [vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
255 posts
Joined: Aug. 2009
Offline
luoqiulin
very nice
is your Surface Reconstruction node works for houdini's own points and particle? just like particlefluidsurface node.

thx,
No, at this moment, Its all in one, so I have only one node, but It has many parameters so I can decide what I want like output.
The reason for this is simple. Its faster, because When It creates surface, It use some variable, from particles info. If I create “extra” node for reconstruction, It need compute some variables again(hash, …).

But I guess that difference between speed is not large, so maybe in future I will create extra node for this.
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
304 posts
Joined: May 2006
Offline
yes, if the difference in speed is not remarkable I would advice separating the “mesher” in a different node. That allows for many tricks before you apply it (this is, just to the particles) and after you apply it.
It also allows to use the tool for many other things.

At least, that is one of the huge differences in favour of Houdini when compared to a Realflow workflow in my opinion.

By the way….great job
Javier Meroño
FX TD.
User Avatar
Member
255 posts
Joined: Aug. 2009
Offline
Netvudu
yes, if the difference in speed is not remarkable I would advice separating the “mesher” in a different node. That allows for many tricks before you apply it (this is, just to the particles) and after you apply it.
It also allows to use the tool for many other things.

At least, that is one of the huge differences in favour of Houdini when compared to a Realflow workflow in my opinion.

By the way….great job

thx,
Yes, At this moment I am working on separ “Mesher” node. I cannot public more details, but I had idea how I can easy and fast send data to mesher, so It dont recompute some variables again and its very fast.
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
77 posts
Joined: July 2006
Offline
Hey Cybermax,

It's been 12 days. We miss you.
Any new test videos?
User Avatar
Member
255 posts
Joined: Aug. 2009
Offline
frogspasm_deux
Hey Cybermax,
It's been 12 days. We miss you.
Any new test videos?
thanks for asking.
Give me few more days. I preparing version 0.5, where I focus on faster sim for large scale simulation and at this moment I can tell you, that speed improvement compare with last version is EPIC!!!!

New version has all new GUI, which is simpler and faster for settings … for eg. I dont use container anymore
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
255 posts
Joined: Aug. 2009
Offline
ok, I just finish version 0.5 and speed is great, but before I create some video I want to implement XSPH method, which should bring less explosion in fluids, or I hope so.
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
255 posts
Joined: Aug. 2009
Offline
I know that it takes more time, but I am just working on new video and at this time It will be longer and with audio. I am preparing a detailed introduction to my GPU solver, not any playing the prepare scene 8)

Attachments:
fluid_v0_5.png (459.8 KB)

https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
77 posts
Joined: July 2006
Offline
That looks very fast!
What graphics card are you running it on?
User Avatar
Member
255 posts
Joined: Aug. 2009
Offline
frogspasm_deux
That looks very fast!
What graphics card are you running it on?
Gainward GTS 450, 1GB, GLH(goes like hell:-)). I sold my Ati and buy Nvidia and I am very happy.
This Nvidia is nothing special. I would like to buy one more and try SLI, but I dont have money. Iam just student

Today I have done few other optimization. So mesher is around 30% faster and use very low ram and vram.

I tested 5mil, which start under 5s per frame(with 10substep), after few collision 10-20s - time include all(sim+meshing+sending data to houdini).

5mil. is not maximum on my hardware, at this moment without clouds, I can simulate only 8mil. Next thing is that Nvidia has official support only for OpenCL 1.0 so for many arrays I use vector4. OpenCL 1.1 support vector3, which saves memory, but at this moment there is only beta support. So with 1.1 I will be simming more particles, but I will prepare Clouds, so maximum particles will be limited with ram not vram

edit:
ouuu, next thing is that I use old nvidia driver, I am lazy to update and I heard that new one is faster, maybe I will be surprised :shock:
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
255 posts
Joined: Aug. 2009
Offline
I start working on new system for generating foam and splash. It will not use classic system, which using houdini(whitecaps). I working on true and very fast splashes. its something like mix simulations where particles has different radius - splash has more details(more particles with low radius).

Attachments:
river.png (438.1 KB)

https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
330 posts
Joined: July 2007
Offline
hi ,

as a ‘ wip ’ , that looks really good to me … . great job so far .



.cheers
except the things that cannot be seen , nothing is like it seems .
User Avatar
Member
255 posts
Joined: Aug. 2009
Offline
zarti: thx

little update:
Firstly, I optimize collision algorithm with objects, because I discover, than Its slow, when I have more objects(like many rocks etc..)

Second, I implement automatic deleting particles without neighbors to GPU. For massive scene is very usefull, for glass of water, users can disable :-)

Third, I add support for prevent creating splash for massive scene. Its on GPU side and its very fast even though Its not simple algoritm. Splash I will generate like a next simulations, which will has smaller particle distance(more details)

On pictures you can see:
- river scene after 620frames, 500fps, 10substep, real gravity
- terrain has 430 convex object
- 770K particles
- start on 0.01s and end on 4s
- average use GPU - 86%

Attachments:
river_3.png (336.5 KB)
river_2.png (398.6 KB)

https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
279 posts
Joined: Dec. 2009
Offline
Very good work. Did you try with most complex rocks ?
  • Quick Links