Houdini 11 and PyQt problem

   3685   6   2
User Avatar
Member
54 posts
Joined: March 2008
Offline
Hi All,

I am trying to create some tool for houdini with pyqt and for some reason pyqt import is not happening

here is output from houdini



Python 2.6.4 (r264:75706, Dec 7 2009, 18:59:58)
on linux2
Houdini 11.1.22 hou module imported.
Type “help”, “copyright”, “credits” or “license” for more information.
>>> import houdini_remap
>>> Exception in thread Thread-1:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/usr/lib/python2.6/threading.py”, line 532, in __bootstrap_inner
self.run()
File “/usr/lib/python2.6/threading.py”, line 484, in run
self.__target(*self.__args, **self.__kwargs)
File “/home/user/python_scripts/pyqt_helper.py”, line 49, in __pyQtThreadMai
n
from PyQt4 import QtCore
ImportError: /usr/lib/pymodules/python2.6/PyQt4/QtCore.so: undefined symbol: _Py
ByteArray_empty_string


and here is the output from python shell


Python 2.6.5 (r265:79063, Apr 16 2010, 13:57:41)
on linux2
Type “help”, “copyright”, “credits” or “license” for more information.
>>> from PyQt4 import QtCore
>>>
>>> QtCore
<module ‘PyQt4.QtCore’ from ‘/usr/lib/pymodules/python2.6/PyQt4/QtCore.so’>
>>>



I can see there is python version change 2.6.4 and 2.6.5 . I s that make a big difference if thats the case then how I can resolve this issue ?

Thanks a lot
User Avatar
Member
6 posts
Joined: June 2011
Offline
i think u shoud get a 2.6.4 and install pyqt to …\Side Effects Software\Houdini xx.xxx\python26\lib\site-packages
User Avatar
Member
54 posts
Joined: March 2008
Offline
Thanks xarchx I will try that . But Is there any way I can change the python version in houdini ?

Thanks
User Avatar
Member
54 posts
Joined: March 2008
Offline
Hi All,

I fixed this issue and all working good now I downloaded all proper versions and complied against with right version so all good now .
User Avatar
Member
230 posts
Joined: Oct. 2009
Offline
Achayan
Hi All,

I fixed this issue and all working good now I downloaded all proper versions and complied against with right version so all good now .

hey Achayan, I am have the same problem when I am importing QtGui from PyQT4. import PyQt4 is without errors but the QtGui gives the same error as with you. How did you fixed it, which version of pyqt you installed? Houdini in my machine uses its own python 2.6.4 and not system's 2.6.7 but I am calling pyqt4 from system's python and maybe thats the problem. Did you installed pyqt inside houdini or did you installed 2.6.4 in your system as well and pyqt again?
User Avatar
Member
54 posts
Joined: March 2008
Offline
Please see this http://www.kurianos.com/wordpress/?p=639 [kurianos.com]
User Avatar
Member
230 posts
Joined: Oct. 2009
Offline
cheers
  • Quick Links