Err trouble with running Apprentice (6.1.149)

3630   1   0
2 posts
First of all, good day everyone. First post here; I'm a graphic design student that's been dabbling with some 3D apps lately and have been trying out different educational packages (Lightwave DE, Softimage XSI EXP, Maya PLE). So I learned of Houdini's Apprentice program and decided to try it out as well, but I'm having some odd problems running it. I believe they may be related to getting a license key, but I'm not sure.

The first thing that happens is that whenever I try to run a Houdini application I get a quick Fatal Error Message that says “FATAL ERROR: Usage: /Side <title> <pid>”. Then I also get an error that says it can't find its .exe file (if I run Houdini Select for instance I get the message that says “hselect.exe load failed: no such file or directory” even though I'm already confronted with the interface). I also get an “Invalid Command Line Option” error popping from the License Administrator when I run a program.

I thought that may all be related to not having the proper keys to run the programs, but I noticed the readme file states that the program should run you through the steps necessary to acquire them but it never did in my case. I also searched around in the board and one of the posts I found sent me to a page to obtain license keys. I went there and started getting the key for Master at first and I got another error with those. The first, second, and fourth keys installed fine but the 3rd and the 5th one didn't. I just copy-pasted them from the information I got in that page so I'm not sure what can be happening. The error says:

“Key 3:
Invalid Command Token.
The command token should be one of:
SERVER, LICENSE, UPGRADE, INCREMENT, EXTEND, REPLACE, REMOVE, or CHANGEIP.”

I get that same error for Key 5. On the positive side, the red orb that used to read Invalid Server Key is now green and reads Valid Server Key .