Scripting Question

   5983   8   1
User Avatar
Member
40 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Hiya,
i'm playing a bit with scripting and is going fine till a certain degree.
I wrote a small tcl/tk script file which loads nice in hscript via the

tk Cpath_to_script/script.tk

command.

But as soon as i include an external *.exe file such as mcp.exe it gives me an error saying something like unknown command MZ.
How do i have todo something like that?
I played around and i also couldn't start any houdini .exe file from within houdini. Is there a way to make something like that possible?

Cheers
User Avatar
Member
7709 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Try:
unix mcp …
where … are your command line arguments.
User Avatar
Member
40 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Thanks for the reply edward, though short and not the solution.


proc start {} {
global config
set string “unix mcp -f $config(ff) $config(lf) $config(inf) -o -r $config(fr) $config(of)”
exec $string
}

it doesn't recognice the unix command from within the script

when i just use
unix mcp … in the houdini textport then it opens a commandline does something and closes it, but it didn't create a videofile, probably some more error messages, just goes to fast to see.

The above code would be the function i want to call when a button is pressed.

Cheers
User Avatar
Member
7709 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
There's no procedures in hscript as it's not really Tcl so your code won't work. As for scrolling too fast, try prototyping your script using hscript. Use “hscript <hipfile>” and then run your regular textport commands.
User Avatar
Member
40 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
in other words, that would mean that i have to use regular tcl to make a GUI for mcp?
thought i could use the houdini integrated one.

Well if that's the case, then all the hazzle isn't worth it. I thought to write a simple script for those who have trouble using the commandline of mcp. But if i have to include regular tcl/tk in it then the hazzle is too much for such a simple tool.

Cheers
User Avatar
Member
7709 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Sorry, I read your original question waaay too fast. You're asking a Tcl/Tk question, not an hscript one.

The reference is for the exec command here:
http://www.tcl.tk/man/tcl8.0/TclCmd/exec.htm [tcl.tk]

So just try replacing the word “unix” in your code with “exec”.
User Avatar
Member
40 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
i originaly have used exec, because i know quiet a bit of tcl/tk.
but it just didn't work. It wasn't recognizing the mcp command.

“Unknown command …” was the message box that popped up.

I tried “mcp -f …”
aswell as “mcp.exe -f ……”
just not working.

btw, if you look in my code there it shows, how i used the exec command.
I first make string with the command and then execute it.

Thx, Cheers
User Avatar
Member
639 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Hi, just out of curiosity, are you able to run mcp on command shell?
User Avatar
Member
40 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline

of course,
from the houdini command line tools, - yes
  • Quick Links