add a turbulence feild in popnet (please help me)

8557   1   1
19 posts
I am new in houdini ,i want add a turbulence feild(like maya) to a popnet
particle ,but i can't find turbulence feild in force,anyone can help me ,thank you very much.
Staff
2540 posts
Turbulence is provided in quite a few POPs. I will list them in a bit but what I think you are getting at is to define a specific volume in space where turbulent forces would be applied. Turbulence is a special case of noise which is usually abs(noise) or the absolute value of a noise generator. Where the noise folds over at 0 creates very nice effects that looks very much like puffy clouds.

To apply turbulent noise in a specific volume, you need to use groups based on bounding volumes. The group POP can use a default sphere or box to group particles. You can also specify an actual object/sop to define the volume. Once you create the group, you then use this group in the group field of the following POPs that have Noise folders:

Force POP
Wind POP
Fan POP ( can use object as fan centre and orientation )
Attractor POP
Resistance POP (actually has a turbulence folder instead of noise folder)

There may be more as this is just off the top of my head.

You can quit here and start experimenting but I like to be complete and cover expressons as well. Remember I warned you! :wink:

Great, but this just scratches the surface! There are expressions that you can use to generate noise() and turbulence() built in to Houdini that you can use anywhere there are local variables available. This is the power user approach but it truly is very accessible even to the novice user.

Try the following exercise. First create a real simple pop particle system and make absolutely sure that the source POP is birthing particles with absolutely no initial velocity. They are just being born right on the surface.