Hello,
How can I get these shaders in houdini 7:
blinn, lambert, pong.
I only see VEX…
Thx,
bernard
Lambert,pong,...
8623 11 2- Bernard
- Member
- 523 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
- uniqueloginname
- Member
- 330 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
hi there, you need to use VEX (or Vex OPerators) to create a basic shader.
so from VOPS create a new VEX surface shader, right-click -> edit network.
put down a Lighting Model VOP and connect the output to the default Output VOPs CF input.
then from the Output menu -> “Create new shop from vop network” to make it available in your scene.
so from VOPS create a new VEX surface shader, right-click -> edit network.
put down a Lighting Model VOP and connect the output to the default Output VOPs CF input.
then from the Output menu -> “Create new shop from vop network” to make it available in your scene.
- Bernard
- Member
- 523 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
- rdms
- Member
- 201 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
mark2
hi there, you need to use VEX (or Vex OPerators) to create a basic shader.
so from VOPS create a new VEX surface shader, right-click -> edit network.
put down a Lighting Model VOP and connect the output to the default Output VOPs CF input.
then from the Output menu -> “Create new shop from vop network” to make it available in your scene.
One thing to keep in mind is that if you want to change the lighting model, you have to do it from inside the vex shader. However, you could attach a parameter VOP before the lighting model VOP (hook parm output of parameter VOP into lmodel input of lighting model VOP). This way you can setup a pulldown menu of lighting models from within the Parms tab of the shop.
Example:
opparm parameter1 parmtype ( string ) parmname ( lightModel ) parmlabel ( lightModel ) providemenu ( on ) menuchoices ( ‘phong PHONG blinn BLINN lambert LAMBERT’ ) stdswitcher ( 3 3 3 3 3 ) opfilter ( !!SHOP/LIGHT!! )
Hope this helps. I just discovered this for myself
Cheers,
Rob
Cheers,
Rob
Digital Supervisor | Stargate Studios Toronto
Rob
Digital Supervisor | Stargate Studios Toronto
- Bernard
- Member
- 523 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
- rdms
- Member
- 201 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
Bernard
Thanks rdms,
I used the Lighting Model VOP as said, but I don't know which is the output.
Where do I find the output of this Lighting Model VOP?
The output is on the left side of the VOP (looks like a tiny box). In this case, it is labelled as 'clr'. If you hold your mouse over it for a bit it will popup info saying “Color (color)” meaning its labelled as Color and a parameter type color. Left-click on it and you'll be able to connect into input of next VOP. Hope this helps.
Cheers,
Rob
Cheers,
Rob
Digital Supervisor | Stargate Studios Toronto
Rob
Digital Supervisor | Stargate Studios Toronto
- Simon
- Member
- 2199 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
- Bernard
- Member
- 523 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
- rdms
- Member
- 201 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
Bernard
Hello,
Yes, thanks Simon for the tip.
I attached a parameter VOP before the Lighting Model VOP. I used the parameters of the example given by rdms, but where do I type stdswitcher (3 3 3 3 3) and opfilter (!!SHOP/LIGHT!!)?
I don't see them in the parameter VOP…
Those are automatically created when you do the connection. BTW. thanks Simon for that MMB trick … much easier.
Cheers,
Rob
Digital Supervisor | Stargate Studios Toronto
Rob
Digital Supervisor | Stargate Studios Toronto
- Bernard
- Member
- 523 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
- uniqueloginname
- Member
- 330 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
- deecue
- Member
- 412 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
-
- Quick Links