Can you point instances at already existing Unreal Assets?

   1958   14   1
User Avatar
Member
22 posts
Joined: Nov. 2007
Offline
Hey all,

Sorry if this is a noob question, but I was wondering if there is a point attribute I can put on the points of my instance node that allows me to use Assets (static meshes) that already exist in Unreal, rather than having to hook them up by hand on the Unreal side. I tried setting the instance node's “instancepath” parameter to the Unreal path (ie “/Game/MyObj”). I also tried the same thing with a point attribute of “instance” on the points, but it doesn't seem to affect the instance inputs when its created in Unreal.

I am hoping there is similar functionality to the way you can set prim attrs of “unreal_face_material” to Unreal paths (ie. “/Game/MyMat”) to materials and get the materials to automatically hook up when you create the object.

I know I could embed the model in the hda pre-Unreal, but I am hoping to avoid that.

Any help is appreciated.
User Avatar
Member
402 posts
Joined: March 2013
Offline
This is quite the opposite of a noob question.

Unfortunately, there's no way at the moment to assign instances via attributes. That said, it's a cool feature and you should submit an RFE to support@sidefx.com. Alternatively, you can also add an Github Issue at:
https://github.com/sideeffects/HoudiniEngineForUnreal [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
22 posts
Joined: Nov. 2007
Offline
Thanks for the reply! I will do just that.
User Avatar
Member
173 posts
Joined: April 2014
Offline
Hello! I filed an RFE for this #73617

Also referenced in https://github.com/sideeffects/HoudiniEngineForUnreal/issues/20 [github.com]
User Avatar
Member
22 posts
Joined: Nov. 2007
Offline
Oh. Great Thanks! I will check it out.
User Avatar
Member
307 posts
Joined: Feb. 2013
Offline
As far as I understand from https://github.com/sideeffects/HoudiniEngineForUnreal/issues/20 [github.com]
this feature is now implemented. Is that correct?

The typical way to get the reference path would be to right click the Object in the UE4 editor content browser, and select “Copy Reference”, right?
User Avatar
Member
173 posts
Joined: April 2014
Offline
DASD
As far as I understand from https://github.com/sideeffects/HoudiniEngineForUnreal/issues/20 [github.com]
this feature is now implemented. Is that correct?

The typical way to get the reference path would be to right click the Object in the UE4 editor content browser, and select “Copy Reference”, right?

Hello, this is not in yet; if you require this, I can bump it up. But yes; that's how it would work. Please let me know.

Thanks.
User Avatar
Member
307 posts
Joined: Feb. 2013
Offline
I don't need it right now, but I will probably need it in the future. I was just curious about the status. Thanks!
User Avatar
Member
173 posts
Joined: April 2014
Offline
Hello; this feature has been added and should be available in H15.0/413.

Please use unreal_instance detail or point parameter (or specify your own in preferences). Please report any issues / bugs.

Thanks!
User Avatar
Member
2 posts
Joined: May 2016
Offline
I'm using H15.0 /459 and I can't find this unreal_instance parameter anywhere
User Avatar
Member
307 posts
Joined: Feb. 2013
Offline
You have to create it yourself. For example, with an attribute create node.

It is not a parameter but an attribute. Maybe that distinction is only in my head, but a paramter is rather an input connected to an attribute, rather than the attribute itself. An attribute is essentially a variable.
User Avatar
Member
2 posts
Joined: May 2016
Offline
Aha, thank you for clarifying.
User Avatar
Member
17 posts
Joined: July 2015
Offline
Hi,

Does any one has an example HDA they could share on how to instance object into Unreal from Houdini?

The documentation here : http://www.sidefx.com/docs/unreal/_instancing.html [www.sidefx.com]

It refers to using packed primitives but I still can't figure out how it connects to Unreal.

I have an attribute on my points called unreal_instance but what path should I give it? /Content/… or Content/… ???
Is it case sensitive? Do I need to use the Transfer Attributes parameter on the Pack node at all?

Any info or an actual HDA that works would be useful.

Thx!
Christian
User Avatar
Member
307 posts
Joined: Feb. 2013
Offline
Hi,

In Unreal in your content browser right-click on the asset then “copy reference”. Paste that into the string parameter. That should do, if everything else is set up correctly.


If you can't get it to work, I'll make a file for you.

Enjoy!
User Avatar
Member
17 posts
Joined: July 2015
Offline
Thx DASD,

Turns out I didnt't need the pack node and it was breaking things (most probably I don't know how to use it). The Copy Reference worked perfectly.

Cheers!
C
  • Quick Links