"Waterfall Flip Fluids Webinar Tutorial"

14177   34   4
72 posts
Following this tutorial for whitewater, however he uses a VOP SOP @ 30:30 into the tutorial (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l2u-DXOxouY) [youtube.com] for separating particles that have a change in velocity. What do I need to use as a replacement to do this? Still a beginner here so if someone could break it down a bit I'd really appreciate it. Thanks very much.

Neil
Edited by Sneil - Feb. 13, 2017 11:45:35
1533 posts
hi

Use a Point VOP, which is actually an Attribute VOP.

J
HOD fx and lighting @ blackginger
https://vimeo.com/jasonslabber [vimeo.com]
72 posts
Worked like a charm! Thanks very much

Neil
72 posts
I just came back to this after being away for a bit, but I'm again having issues with this tutorial when he comes to creating the spray sim DOPNetwork at 44:10 and having the separated particles created become emitters. I don't get the same results with Houdini 15 as things have obviously changed when creating the POP object and POP solver. Where exactly do I go from here to get things working? At a loss…

Again, appreciate any and all help.
Edited by Sneil - Feb. 9, 2017 08:22:47
72 posts
Anyone? Maybe a link to a different particle tutorial that would cover this?
253 posts
Yeah, you simply use the Whitewater shelf tool in the Particle fluids tab.
72 posts
Ah, thank you. Didn't even know there was one there.
72 posts
OK after adding the white water I lost my fluid mesh and it has been replaced with spheres. Can't figure out now how to get the mesh back. My particle_fluid object node still displays the mesh in my viewport, yet renders spheres… Nothing has changed inside the particle_fluid object.

Attachments:
untitled4.jpg (54.0 KB)

253 posts
Doesn't happen to me. Can you simplify your scene and post it ?
72 posts