Houdini Indie 16 and Cinema 4D R18

10917   9   3
1 posts
Hello. So I recently purchased Houdini Indie 16 and when I was installing the application, it asks you if you want to install the Houdini Engine plugin for Maya, Unreal, and Unity but no Cinema 4D, like I was expecting. I have Cinema 4D R18 and have never tried loading any Houdini assets so under Pipeline it prompts you to download the Houdini Engine installer. Installing that version, which I believe is 15.5, then conflicted with my Houdini 16 version cause when I tried opening the full version I got errors and it was unable to open. Is there a Houdini 16 Engine available to install within Cinema 4D or is it only the 15.5 version at this point? And am I doing something wrong cause they seem to be conflicting? Upon getting the error, I uninstalled everything and reinstalled Houdini Indie 16, which works fine, but now I'm unable to load the assets within Cinema 4D. I'm new to Houdini and a bit confused with the C4D integration so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
7714 posts
As far as I know, Maxon's has not done a H16 Engine for C4D yet, so you have to use which version of H15.5 that it requires. When you go install H15.5, you should use the default installation folder name so that it doesn't conflict with the H16 one.
2 posts
Novice query here (and apologies for the resurrection but this is the only other place I've found asking along these lines): is the license for 16 “backwards compatible” (for lack of a better term) with installs of 15? It doesn't seem to be the case, which means anyone who got on board with Houdini recently is screwed if they want to use HDAs in C4D…
1743 posts
With a Houdini 16.0 license, you should be able to run earlier versions of Houdini, (unless I'm mistaken). However, scenes created in Houdini 16.0 may use features that don't exist in earlier versions, so some new nodes may not work in the earlier version.