VEX: How to define a global variable and pass it to a function

8094   4   2
4 posts
I'm quite new to coding and I'm trying to pass variables to my user-defined function, but I get the error “Variable is not accessible in this function”. I want to define global variables on top, create local variables in the function and then pass the calculated value to the global variables. The function also returns another value, but I need actually three values in my main program that will be calculated in the function. Below is a simplified example of what I mean:

// define global variables
float ao = 0;
float bo = 0;

int mand(float x, y){ //user-defined function
int a = x/2;
int b = y/3;
int i = a+b;
ao = a; // pass values a to global variable ao
bo = b; // pass values b to global variable bo
return(i);
}

v@Cd = set(ao, bo, mand(1, 0.3)); // use variables ao and bao in main program, as well as i, for example in color attribute

Is it somehow possible to access global variables in my function? It worked like this in Javascript. Or is there a possibility to return three values from my function and use them all later?

Thanks!
2036 posts
As far as I know you can't access a variable outside a function directly.

It needs to be passed to the function if you want to change it, which is what I usually do.

I've also changled your code a bit for a and b, casting them as ints.

// define global variables
float ao = 0;
float bo = 0;

int mand(float x, y, ao, bo){ //user-defined function
int a = int(x/2);
int b = int(y/3);
int i = a+b;
ao = a; // pass values a to global variable ao
bo = b; // pass values b to global variable bo
return(i);
}

v@Cd = set(ao, bo, mand(1.0, 0.3, ao, bo)); // use variables ao and bao in main program, as well as i, for example in color attribute
Staff
4159 posts
Perhaps constants would work:

#define MY_INT            123
#define otherInt 999

int foo( float ax; ) {
int val = (ax > 0) ? MY_INT : otherInt;
return(val);
}

i@a = foo(@P.x);
I'm o.d.d.
4 posts