Scatter objects on the center edges of another and aligned to that also.

3042   5   1
2 posts
Hi there,
A newbie here. Nice to meet you all.
I hope you can help me with this one.

Problem:
I have an sphere ( poly ) and in every edge of that sphere I want to scatter a cylinder. Like to perform a wireframe view.
I want it to be scattered and not go for a “wireframe solution” because later I will need to do more things with that scattered cylinder… the final result is to create a Dome Tent. so I will need to add screw and stuff in the edges. etc…

Things I tried:
First I simplified my self the job and started with just a plane. I divide it to get the triangles.
I resampled the plane, so I get points in the middle of every edge but the Copy node, won't read the alignment properly..
I also tried with the carve node.
But I'm kind of stuck, searching/testing for different things with much idea of what I'm doing. hehe.
I've been reading in the forum some people scattering objects on edges of a spline, but this solution didn't work for my case, because I need to remove the points in the connections also, so there won't scatter anything.

Well… is that complicated? am I aiming to high? should I do it by hand this time?
146 posts
Newb here, too. Pleased to meet you

Not quite clear on why you want to scatter - Scatter op is usually when you want randomness to the points' positions.

One issue you'll have is that in a poly (geodesic) sphere the edges aren't all the same length.

Had a quick play, though; definitely not there yet, but there might be some clues in there. Note the use of Poly Frame, with the Tangent attribute changed to N - this gives you normals that are actually tangential. Also the use of primpoints in the Group Expression to find all the points connected to only 4 others (which happen to be the structure's midpoints)

There are issues (rotation of some of the tubes is wrong) but I ran out of time.