Apprentice and external renderer.

   817   11   1
User Avatar
Member
68 posts
Joined: Nov. 2018
Offline
I truly understand that having a free product, meaning here Houdini Apprentice, is a bless to be having access to for such a professional product.

But can someone tell me why is there no allowance for external renderers to be used with Apprentice version?

Let's for example, i am a beginner, as i am, and in order to learn the program at no cost, i can work with apprentice version and thats fantastic! I get to work as much as i can in order to, with time, develop a deep knowledge in such a wast space of Houdini.
But for real, most people starting out don't have that high-end hardware to render scenes relatively fast. I mean, i do 2d and 3d on a laptop! Shuting down as soon as cpu reaches a heat margin…

I clearly can't profit from Apprentice version, so why can't we install for example Redshift and render with our gpu? Why ban that option?
Edited by Xtro - Jan. 26, 2019 17:34:00
User Avatar
Member
4189 posts
Joined: June 2012
Offline
You can use Redshift in Apprentice - just render to it's render view, not Houdini.
User Avatar
Member
68 posts
Joined: Nov. 2018
Offline
fuos
You can use Redshift in Apprentice - just render to it's render view, not Houdini.

Is this legal?
I mean it clearly states at the product info that Apprentice does not use external renderers, right?
User Avatar
Member
4189 posts
Joined: June 2012
Offline
I'm not aware if it's been tested in court.
User Avatar
Member
68 posts
Joined: Nov. 2018
Offline
fuos
You can use Redshift in Apprentice - just render to it's render view, not Houdini.

Btw what do you mean by that. I am a beginner, i know what viewport in houdini is. Are there any specific steps i need to take after i install redshift on my station?
User Avatar
Member
4189 posts
Joined: June 2012
Offline
RedShift isn't front of me right now but on the RedShiftROP there are a few buttons for rendering - try them out.
User Avatar
Member
1 posts
Joined: Sept. 2020
Offline
I search other way round: I own Houdini-Indie and search a free external renderer, because Redshift or Octane are far beyond my financial possibilities as a non-commercial hobbyist.

Any hints, what external renderers are availeable for free or very much cheaper than the famous ones, but offer a nice quality-brush-up for the renderings in Houdini?

Thanks for your help!
User Avatar
Member
180 posts
Joined: July 2015
Offline
As a non-commercial hobbyist you're well adviced with Renderman [renderman.pixar.com] or 3Delight [www.3delight.com].

Both really great renderers.
Manuel Köster - Technical Procedural Artist @Crytek

crytek.com
shadesoforange.de
User Avatar
Member
691 posts
Joined: Jan. 2018
Offline
redfox8170
Octane are far beyond my financial possibilities as a non-commercial hobbyist.

Octane is $20/month. Most people will easily spend that on coffee without even giving it a second thought.

Hobbyist doesn't mean that you don't have to spend any money on what you enjoy, quite the opposite – it's a fun activity that you happily pay for. Just ask any other hobbyist!

P.S.

By the strict definition, I am an hobbyist too, and I spend a lot of this awesome hobby that I enjoy so much!


P.P.S.

If you really don't want to spend any money on software, check out Blender!


P.P.P.S.

Another +1 on 3Delight….it's a great renderer and it's free. If you want to know more about how to use it in Houdini, check out my tutorial on it:

https://youtu.be/IC9Gt6TG0ws [youtu.be]
Edited by Midphase - Oct. 20, 2020 12:05:25
>>Kays
User Avatar
Member
7 posts
Joined: Oct. 2019
Offline
Wait what? can you really use apprentice for external renderers? will that remove the watermark as well? that would make indie redundant for many people..
User Avatar
Member
180 posts
Joined: July 2015
Offline
rickvdvulkaan
Wait what? can you really use apprentice for external renderers? will that remove the watermark as well? that would make indie redundant for many people..

No you cannot. See here [www.sidefx.com].

Attachments:
render.png (29.2 KB)

Manuel Köster - Technical Procedural Artist @Crytek

crytek.com
shadesoforange.de
User Avatar
Member
7 posts
Joined: Oct. 2019
Offline
well yeah i figured. but i can imagine that since you render it with an external renderer, the watermark won't be transferred somehow. but that would be just too easy.
  • Quick Links