My first week in Houdini

973   0   0
7 posts
Hi everyone ,long term lurker but first time poster. I am a property surveyor in the real world with a hobbyist interest in 3d, particularly in architectural modelling. I have over 10 years hobbyist experience in traditional polygon modelling , most time spent in 3dsmax but also a reasonable working knowledge of Substance Designer / Painter and Zbrush without being an expert in any of these. I also have some rudimentary programming knowledge having tangled with various scripting languages over the years. I thought I would document my first experiences with this wonderful software to perhaps encourage other new users and perhaps raise a smile from the more experienced.

First things first. For 3 long years Houdini did not play well with my system. I have a 4 year old PC with a GEforce970 and 32MB RAM but it used to crash seconds after start up with the dreaded segmentation error. After each Houdini version was released I would hopefully load it up only to be met with the same issue. Trawled around here for a bit and read that this was maybe caused by a conflict with a sound driver but somehow I did not really see the connection steadfastly believing it to be a graphics card issue. It was indeed a sound card driver issue, not with the core soundriver but with the enhanced sound software loaded on startup by my Maximus Hero III motherboard software. Simply disabling this on start up cured the issue immediately. Imagine the joy of being finally able to start to play around with the software after 3 years sitting on the sidelines. Note to self: technical people do sometimes know what they are talking about