Rigid Body Particles using UI ?

4582   16   1
20 posts
I'm completely new to Houdini and I've been looking through some tutorials trying to make some RBD Particles in order to fill a container. I noticed that a lot of people skip using the UI provided and so far seems simpler but I understand things can get complicated.

So I added a Circle and clicked “Source Particle Emitter” then added a Cube and clicked on “Instance Geometry on Particles” which works fine but now stuck trying to make the instance geometry to RBD ?
8513 posts
you need to use Bullet Solver to get rbd collisions, you can still emit your packed RBDs using POP Source in All Geometry mode

however sine H18 you can use RBD Bullet Solver SOP instead, it has Solver/Bullet Object/Emit RBDs option
Tomas Slancik
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
20 posts
I really don't understand this at all. Is there any way you could example ? Really wanting to do this just by the UI not manually.

I noticed if I use a Ground Plane for collision it already works with Particles but why not RBD or Static ?
Edited by espr3ss0 - Feb. 24, 2020 11:54:07
182 posts
There is an example file with the Emit RBDs feature in the Houdini Help when you search for the RBD Bullet Solver geometry node.
20 posts
Thanks tried but can't see which one.
182 posts
This one:

But in general I'm afraid there is no Shelf Button Solution for what you want to do. The RBD Bullet Solver SOP might be the fastest way to get there without diving into DOPs. Either way you'd have to get your hands dirty one way or another

Attachments:
Capture.JPG (57.2 KB)

555 posts
here's a basic setup,

- the emit RBD is in rbdbulletsolver>Bullet Object tab
- check in rbdconfig for how I configure the balls, funnel and bowl
- I used quick and dirty concave for collision, beware the pros will frown on this.

Attachments:
FillBowl.gif (1.3 MB)
vu_FillBowl.hiplc (625.8 KB)

555 posts
and one with animated funnel…

Attachments:
FillBowl2.gif (1.5 MB)