Violent Ocean, is it possible?

   2465   7   0
User Avatar
Member
250 posts
Joined: June 2016
Offline
Hello everyone!

I am wondering if a scene like this one is possible in Houdini, with all the details of the waves, if so, what kind of computer system would I need and what problems are to be expected!

User Avatar
Member
250 posts
Joined: June 2016
Offline
No taker? :/
User Avatar
Member
555 posts
Joined: Feb. 2017
Offline
what about skillz….? given the best typewriters…I've never seen a bunch of monkeys churned out works of Shakespeare quality.
User Avatar
Member
250 posts
Joined: June 2016
Offline
vusta
what about skillz….? given the best typewriters…I've never seen a bunch of monkeys churned out works of Shakespeare quality.
Cute, but utterly un-useful!

Even the best tool has its limits, is it possible for Houdini, given the proper skills, the proper equipment, to reproduce the fluids in that image, including the whitewater, of course, and can it be done on my 32 GB 6 core system, or do I need a beefier setup, now that is the question!
Edited by GCharb - April 10, 2020 06:20:49
User Avatar
Member
711 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
If you check YouTube and search for “Houdini lighthouse” you'll see some examples. You could reproduce that image, including whitewhater, but not on a 32GB system. At least not faithfully with all the details present in the photo. I would guess 128GB+ is a safer bet.
User Avatar
Member
250 posts
Joined: June 2016
Offline
DaJuice
If you check YouTube and search for “Houdini lighthouse” you'll see some examples. You could reproduce that image, including whitewhater, but not on a 32GB system. At least not faithfully with all the details present in the photo. I would guess 128GB+ is a safer bet.
Thanks for your reply and advice, I also thought my specs were too low, thanks again, I will look it up!
User Avatar
Member
4540 posts
Joined: Feb. 2012
Online
It has been done here too (albeit using a sparse FLIP solver and clustering with an extremely involved setup):


I would also advise at least 64GB RAM, but 128GB would be better.
Edited by animatrix_ - April 11, 2020 01:38:55
Senior FX TD @ Industrial Light & Magic
Get to the NEXT level in Houdini & VEX with Pragmatic VEX! [www.pragmatic-vfx.com]

youtube.com/@pragmaticvfx | patreon.com/animatrix | pragmaticvfx.gumroad.com
User Avatar
Member
250 posts
Joined: June 2016
Offline
animatrix_
It has been done here too (albeit using a sparse FLIP solver and clustering with an extremely involved setup):

I would also advise at least 64GB RAM, but 128GB would be better.
Now that's what I am talking about, thanks a bunch, I really appreciate it!
  • Quick Links