Wrap3 in Houdini

   4825   6   1
User Avatar
Member
71 posts
Joined: Oct. 2015
Offline
Hey guys,

I do a bit of model work when im not working in houdini. And one tool that im increasing using in production and personal work is Wrap3.

For those unfamiliar have a quick look.



The whole app just feels like a small slice of Houdini.

I hope those at SESI know about this because it offers a very streamlined a nodal environment to perform tasks much like a sop workflow.

I'm almost positive most of the functionality could be built with what already exists but its an extremely useful tool. And since SESI are always looking to push more into the artist market i thought it might be worth a look.

I'm curious to hear your thoughts.
Senior Groom TD @ Industrial Light & Magic - abvfx [abvfx.me]
User Avatar
Member
129 posts
Joined: June 2016
Offline
+1
User Avatar
Member
71 posts
Joined: Oct. 2015
Offline
And now its here.



https://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini/nodes/sop/topotransfer.html [www.sidefx.com]

Awesome job SESI.
Senior Groom TD @ Industrial Light & Magic - abvfx [abvfx.me]
User Avatar
Member
41 posts
Joined: Dec. 2016
Offline
Wrap3 has a lattice deform that allows you to apply the wrapped face to the original figure (the one that has manifold disconnected parts like eyes/eyelashes/inner mouth). How do you do this in Houdini with Topo Transfer? I tried using the Houdini Lattice SOP but I don't think it works the same as Wrap3's lattice and didn't morph the original figure.
User Avatar
Member
8645 posts
Joined: July 2007
Offline
what you are describing sounds like Point Deform SOP
Tomas Slancik
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
User Avatar
Member
41 posts
Joined: Dec. 2016
Offline
tamte
what you are describing sounds like Point Deform SOP
Thanks for pointing me at Point Deform. It looks like it gets me closer to the Wrap3 Lattice node but there is a harsh, hard transition between the face and the rest of the body. I'll have to investigate if there's a good way to do a soft blend around the transition area.
User Avatar
Staff
3456 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
you may also want to try adding those areas to the Rigid Primitives parameter…
see the help card for more info.
Michael Goldfarb | www.odforce.net
Training Lead
SideFX
www.sidefx.com
  • Quick Links