Axiom Solver - Sparse GPU Fluid Solver

   1286   15   1
User Avatar
Member
18 posts
Joined: Feb. 2017
Offline
Come across this awesome asset.

Axiom is a sparse, GPU accelerated volumetric fluid solver for computer graphics and visual effects. It’s key feature is the custom OpenCL volume data structure thats lets sparse simulations run on a GPU.



https://www.mattpuchala.com/axiom [www.mattpuchala.com]

Hope Houdini could implement this tech in next version~
Edited by wanglifu - Sept. 9, 2020 00:23:34
User Avatar
Member
246 posts
Joined: Feb. 2017
Offline
Wow, this is really impressive. The question is: is it faster than the sparse pyro solver running in opencl mode?

Cheers
CYTE
User Avatar
Member
18 posts
Joined: Feb. 2017
Offline
CYTE
Wow, this is really impressive. The question is: is it faster than the sparse pyro solver running in opencl mode?

Cheers
CYTE
The question is the sparse pyro solver doesn't support opencl yet.
User Avatar
Member
246 posts
Joined: Feb. 2017
Offline
Hey wanglifu,

ah ok, didn`t know that. There is a checkbox in the sparse solver?
Nevertheless, I played with axiom for like 5 Minutes. It feels amazing. Super fast and user friendly!

Cheers
CYTE

Attachments:
OpenCL.jpg (77.0 KB)

User Avatar
Member
246 posts
Joined: Feb. 2017
Offline
this shows the speed advantage of axiom:

Axiom Sneak Peak [vimeo.com]
Edited by CYTE - Sept. 9, 2020 03:14:36
User Avatar
Member
79 posts
Joined: July 2013
Offline
…with the opencl tab checked (houdini sparse pyro solver) its falling back to non-sparse version. Its only sparse solving on CPU for now.
User Avatar
Member
650 posts
Joined: Jan. 2018
Offline
How does it compare to EmberGen?

https://jangafx.com/software/embergen/ [jangafx.com]
>>Kays
User Avatar
Member
1 posts
Joined: Aug. 2017
Offline
Having issues running with Linux. Looks like the solver isn't running with 18.0.499.I am just getting the source result output from the Axiom Solver node. Is anyone else having the same issue?
User Avatar
Member
50 posts
Joined: Aug. 2018
Offline
This is super fast! Can I somehow feed Cd attribute and get colored smoke?
User Avatar
Member
246 posts
Joined: Feb. 2017
Offline
mihatsu
This is super fast! Can I somehow feed Cd attribute and get colored smoke?
I`m afraid that this is not supported atm…
User Avatar
Member
9 posts
Joined: April 2017
Offline
CYTE
mihatsu
This is super fast! Can I somehow feed Cd attribute and get colored smoke?
I`m afraid that this is not supported atm…

Hey there,

Having trouble with installation. Whenever I put down the node in sops, I get this error.

Attachments:
Capture.PNG (96.5 KB)

User Avatar
Member
246 posts
Joined: Feb. 2017
Offline
Hey eyestorm,

have you copied the dso files to your Houdini user folder?

Cheers
CYTE
User Avatar
Member
9 posts
Joined: April 2017
Offline
CYTE
Hey eyestorm,

have you copied the dso files to your Houdini user folder?

Cheers
CYTE

Yes I did. I tried them in the Houdini 18 folder inside documents and the Houdini 18 folder inside program files. Neither seemed to work. I was thinking it was perhaps because my otls are in a separate folder inside the preferences folder named otls. But it didn’t work with the axiom otl in the base preferences folder either.
User Avatar
Member
246 posts
Joined: Feb. 2017
Offline
All of the Files should Go to your User Folder under Documents. What i usually do against this Kind of Problems is to rename the User folder to Houdini.18.XXX or whatever. Then restart Houdini. It will create a new User folder for you. Copy the axiom Otl and dlo Folders to this new User folder and try it again. Maybe its conflicting with something else in your old User folder.

Cheers
CYTE
User Avatar
Member
9 posts
Joined: April 2017
Offline
CYTE
All of the Files should Go to your User Folder under Documents. What i usually do against this Kind of Problems is to rename the User folder to Houdini.18.XXX or whatever. Then restart Houdini. It will create a new User folder for you. Copy the axiom Otl and dlo Folders to this new User folder and try it again. Maybe its conflicting with something else in your old User folder.

Cheers
CYTE

Hey thanks, that does work. It’s just very not ideal because I have a bunch of other stuff installed. Still trying to troubleshoot how to make it work with my preference folder that’s full of stuff. Because I have a folder called ‘otls’ which Houdini recognizes, if I put the axiom otl into the base preferences folder Houdini doesn’t see it. And if it’s in the otl folder, it can’t find the dll it seems, I believe that’s what the issue might be.
User Avatar
Member
3776 posts
Joined: Sept. 2011
Offline
Did you try creating a package? That's the best way to associate a plugin with a specific version of Houdini.

axiom.json
{
    "enable": false,
    "path": "C:/USERS/PUBLIC/DOCUME~1/Axiom/${HOUDINI_VERSION}"
}
  • Quick Links