Karma CPU vs Arnold/Vray etc.

   769   4   0
User Avatar
Member
40 posts
Joined: Oct. 2021
Offline
For those who have used Karma cpu extensively, how is Karma cpu compared to other cpu renderers in terms of capabilities, speed, and stability?
User Avatar
Member
636 posts
Joined: June 2006
Offline
There are many other factors that count too!

there are currently many developments in the rendering section with shifts from shader format (mtlx), scene description format (USD) and other technology's.

for indie artist you can select any render engine I would say most indie projects can be solved with any of these render engines. when you do architectural rendering vray could be preferred. when you have Autodesk products in your pipeline Arnold can be your ideal render. the state of capabilities, speed, and stability can change by time and project requirement. today you can get demo version with watermarks for free to learn and recrate the shader networks brings you more then just a forum post from a unknown person like me.

happy learning.
User Avatar
Member
52 posts
Joined: Jan. 2018
Offline
By the way i have question about workflow. Iam still learning and havnt touched materials and shading part yet.

But is there easy way to render scene in Karma XPU as preview (for client corects and stuff)
And then render same scene in Arnold or Octane as final stage. Render for production and postprocess stage.

So.. is there any easy way for that? Or i have to make duplicate materials and lights and all for 2 different renderers?
Edited by oldteapot7 - April 4, 2024 12:55:08
User Avatar
Member
636 posts
Joined: June 2006
Offline
oldteapot7
By the way i have question about workflow. Iam still learning and havnt touched materials and shading part yet.

But is there easy way to render scene in Karma XPU as preview (for client corects and stuff)
And then render same scene in Arnold or Octane as final stage. Render for production and postprocess stage.

So.. is there any easy way for that? Or i have to make duplicate materials and lights and all for 2 different renderers?

i know that Octane in Solaris has some strange glitches had last year teached my brother and they use Octane with C4D and Maya.
the first bug was we couldn't change Render Resolution! the Plugin is over 1 year out and it can't read the Camera Resolution in the USD File WTF! and then there where many other small bugs.

In theory you can setup the scene with Solaris (Geometry, Camera, Light) define for each Render Engine a custom Shader and in the future you only need a mtlx shader. But depending on Render Engine there can be a mismatch of Render Functionality and a different stage of USD Support that need custom Camera and Light Parameters.

when you can use just one Render Engine you have less problems in my view.
User Avatar
Member
1 posts
Joined: April 2024
Offline
Karma is more capable imo.
  • Quick Links