How to use custom renderman shader in H9?

   8215   12   1
User Avatar
Member
83 posts
Joined: Dec. 2005
Offline
How to use custom renderman shader in H9? Thanks
User Avatar
Staff
2591 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
newPeak
How to use custom renderman shader in H9? Thanks

There's a lot of documentation which refers to rmands (i.e. http://odforce.net/wiki/index.php/Rmands). [odforce.net]

However, with H9, rmands has been replaced with a python script: slo2otl.py

If you run this on your compiled shader, it will generate an OTL which can be loaded into Houdini. The shader then becomes available in SHOPs. There are also different python scripts for other RIB renderers (sld2otl: 3Delight). It should also be almost trivial to add support for other renderers (like Pixie, Aqsis, etc.)

Hope this helps.
User Avatar
Member
523 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Hello,



how and where can I run this python script ?




thanks,



bern
User Avatar
Member
519 posts
Joined:
Offline
It's in $HH/bin
User Avatar
Member
523 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Thanks,



but how can I activate it?



bern
User Avatar
Member
519 posts
Joined:
Offline
Come on Bern….initialize houdini (source houdini_setup on linux, not a clue how it should be done on windows but you know what to do, same thing as starting houdini). Then go to $HH/bin and run the program from the command line (windows does have a cli too).
User Avatar
Member
83 posts
Joined: Dec. 2005
Offline
ImportError: No module named rmands………..Why?
User Avatar
Member
519 posts
Joined:
Offline
Where do you get this error? Are you using rmands from within houdini or from the cli?

As Mark suggested, try using the python script. Make sure that Renderman is configured properly (houdini uses the pixar sloinfo command).

Here is the output from the python script

Usage slo2otl.py slofile1

This program parses a shader compiled for Pixar's RenderMan and
creates OTL files which allow the shader to be accessed easily in
Houdini.

It does this by processing the output of sloinfo, which must appear in
your path.

Options
-v Verbose
-l hdafile Create a Houdini Digital Asset (HDA) for a single
shader.
-L otlfile Add shaders to a library of digital assets (OTL)
-N label For a single .slo file, specify the label in the menu
-C icon For a single .slo file, specify the name of the icon
User Avatar
Staff
2591 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
newPeak
ImportError: No module named rmands………..Why?

Ahh… there might be an issue on Windows. slo2otl.py should be run using hython (instead of python). It's possible that on Windows, raw python is being run instead.

This is because modules from the houdini distribution have to be available in the python path.

I'll have to look at this when I get to the office. However, you should be able to run

hython slo2otl.py *.slo
User Avatar
Member
83 posts
Joined: Dec. 2005
Offline
Thanks
User Avatar
Member
67 posts
Joined: Jan. 2008
Offline
I'm kinda lost with all this python scripting and stuff :?: Is it possible to see
all renderman shaders in the materials tab? When I right click in shops network, I can see all renderman shaders even though I have not generated
any otls(still don't know exactly how to) I guess that's from the OPlibShopRIB.otl that already exists in otl folder.

Could someone please write step by step instructions on how to run slo2otl.py script, for example metal.slo

All prman shaders are in C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManProServer-13.5.2\lib\shaders

I've alredy got prman running and also can preview from m-play, but no shaders.

Thank you all in advance for your help. :?:
User Avatar
Member
67 posts
Joined: Jan. 2008
Offline
Yessss!!! Finally got the shaders working. Next target…textures. :roll:

Oh and I love the way Houdini lights work with prman.
User Avatar
Member
4 posts
Joined: May 2009
Offline
i tried using hython slo2otl.py star.otl stat.slo

i get an error:

hython: cant open file `slo2otl.py` No such file or directory
  • Quick Links