Couple of basic pyhton questions

26207   48   1
856 posts
I'm new to this python stuff so excuse me if these are a bit dumb.

-Often, in the hou help docs methods require a self. What does this stand for and how do I refer to it?

-How do I know what node parameters I can access? Is there a list of this (like the details view)?
--
Jobless
1904 posts
Self is like the Python term for this. Just a reference to the particular instance of a class. You only really need to care about it when you are writing your own classes so you can basically ignore it.

Parameters are straight forward using hou.Node.parm(), hou.Node.parmTuple(), etc… but I get the feeling you mean attributes since you are talking about the Detail view. You can find all the attributes that exist through functions of hou.Geometry.
Graham Thompson, Technical Artist @ Rockstar Games
856 posts
Hm. Ok. I'm trying to find my way around this.

As for the parameters, I think they are listed in the parameter interface. Logic, but I never really thought of it. ops:

What I want to do is run some algorithms on attributes via a python sop.

There seem to be many ways to get at attribute data. I would like to get an already existing attribute as a list. Whatever method I look at always leads me back to hou.Attrib or some other method that just returns individual point attrib values. So, I have to write a loop to get at the data (as a list) or is there a specific function?
--
Jobless
1904 posts
Take a look at hou.Geometry.pointFloatAttribValues(), or primFloatAttribValues(). They return a giant list of all the attribute values you can then manipulate and use the corresponding set functions to apply back.
856 posts
Ok, I almost got it. I can now read attributes with

hou.pwd().geometry().pointFloatAttribValues(“attr”)

mess with them (I can print them and they look ok) , but I can't write them with

hou.pwd().geometry().SetPointFloatAttribValues(“attr”, computedstuff)