Learning flow for new Houdini users?

6255   5   2
3 posts
I am a professional Lightwave artist ……………………………..
…………………… ( just waiting for everyone to stop laughing)
I am trying to move into Houdini, eventually toward the FX and Dynamics applications. I have been working through the tutorials and videos. I feel though that this is a little sporadic and dis-contiguous. Can any one suggest a more organized learning flow path. I am mainly looking for a solid baseline in the overall software, following with a focus on the FX and Dynamics. I am a working professional so a formal school is out of the question. I have to do this on my own in my limited spare time. If anyone can suggest a “road map”
or path to follow that would be greatly appreciated.

-Matthew Zeyn
Disenchanted Lightwave Artist
12 posts
This is the one I recommend because it is the one I am using, it is great:
http://www.3dbuzz.com/xcart/product.php?productid=61&cat=11&page=1 [3dbuzz.com]
Here is a comment about this course from:
http://www.vfxtalk.com/forum/sidefx-houdini-9-5-t16867.html [vfxtalk.com]

“If you're looking to start off with style, you can begin your journey into the world of Houdini by picking up the Houdini FastTrack bundle, containing the first two volumes of the Houdini Production Fundamentals series!

This exciting set includes many hours of video to help you start thinking like a production-level Houdini technical director! Through a basic introductory project, you'll see how to create a final animated movie through the development of digital assets, placement and manipulation of lights and cameras, as well as how to setup a full production-ready render pipeline that will automatically break your shots down into a series of described render passes. You will also explore the process of post production using Houdini's build-in compositor. In the compositing phase, you will learn how to create digital assets that will make managing shots with over 80 layers a breeze!