Completely new on Houdini. General questions.

2411   3   1
2 posts
Hello guys and gals!
This is my first post here.So,I'll get into the point directly.I am a below intermediate and above beginner level in Cinema 4D(which i absolutely love).My real strength at the moment though is in After Effects.Also I gave a shot to Maya,but I don't really like it,it's just a matter of taste.I am really interested in visual fx,but I am quite afraid and not sure about myself on using Houdini.What scares me is that I have never used a node based system and Houdini is quite technical from what i've seen on the internet. I love the mentality behind it,thats why I wanted to ask a couple of questions. I am all self taught,so no education on VFX background etc.Im 27 and truth is,I dont want to lose more time,so i have to start with confidence.I was thinking of getting the appretince Houdini which costs 99 bucks.So my questions are pretty general:

How much time,would i need to be confident in Houdini? (have in mind I am a fast learner,but with no VFX education.)

Are maths and trigonometry a must for VFX?

Is Houdini feature rich for modeling and texturing?

Is it hard to get matchmove data inside Houdini?(currently,this is ridiculously easy with AE and C4D,but i also use Syntheyes and from time to time pfTrack)

P.S. Currently I use C4D for modeling,rendreing,animation and simple dynamic simulations and general MoGraph. I want to get profficient at Houdini for VFX mostly,but I wouldn't mind to use it as my main allarounder too!

P.S 2 Will i be able to take anything done in Houdini to C4D in anyway? (sims,fluids,etc)

Thanks in advance!
51 posts
Hey daggo!

Welcome aboard.
I am at more or less you staring point. But one year ahead of you if you will…

I can't answer all questions, but I will do my best to cover most of it.